• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Which Unication G5 version to buy for the DC / northern VA area?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
I'm contemplating acquiring a G5 but would like a suggestion from you guys first.
What dual-band version is best for me?

I would be monitoring VSP, Loudoun County PD and Fire, Fairfax PD/Fire and DC Fire initially.

I know P25 PII is not yet available on this pager.

Thanks,
E
 

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,982
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
In answer to my own question (possibly) sounds like I need the VHF + 700-800Mhz version and I will not be able to hear Fairfax PD/Fire nor DC Fire as both are showing P25 PII in the database.
I should be OK for Loudoun County PD/FD and VSP however (?)

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=3783
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6524
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6957
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7508

E
Yup- given STARS is VHF...
 

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
Correct Troy! So I've ordered one (VHF version) including charging and programming cable + software. US $660.25 ... now waiting for tracking info etc...
 

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
* correction
LCPD and Fire are also PII
Sounds like I will only enjoy VSP until the PII fs is released.
 

ResQguy

Meh
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,295
In answer to my own question (possibly) sounds like I need the VHF + 700-800Mhz version and I will not be able to hear Fairfax PD/Fire nor DC Fire as both are showing P25 PII in the database.
I should be OK for Loudoun County PD/FD and VSP however (?)

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=3783
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6524
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6957
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7508

E
Neither Fairfax or DC use Phase 2 for fire. You have to look at the talkgroup mode not just the system type.
 

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
This maybe a question for another thread but anyone knows if programming the g5 from RR information is easy as in maybe exporting a system to Excel and importing into the PPS? I still have to read the programming material so forgive me if this was a silly question.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,982
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
This maybe a question for another thread but anyone knows if programming the g5 from RR information is easy as in maybe exporting a system to Excel and importing into the PPS? I still have to read the programming material so forgive me if this was a silly question.
Apparently not - but we're asking for PPS improvements

http://forums.radioreference.com/un...see-unication-g4-g5-pagers-3.html#post2743356

I'd think the most requests for an item, the more likely we'll see those changes.
 

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
Love this unit[emoji7]
Received today, programmed it for the first time and it wasn't too hard.
Here is a short clip of it receiving VHF P25 Virginia State Police (VSP) in clear and loud audio. Note that during this recording my TRX2 was in the background attempting to receive the same talkgroups and failed for the most part.

https://youtu.be/yK5z3EkkI08

Can't wait for phase 2! Would love to program Loudoun County here.
 

cpetraglia

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
858
Location
Fairfax, VA
In answer to my own question (possibly) sounds like I need the VHF + 700-800Mhz version and I will not be able to hear Fairfax PD/Fire nor DC Fire as both are showing P25 PII in the database.
I should be OK for Loudoun County PD/FD and VSP however (?)

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=3783
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6524
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6957
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7508

E
Fairfax shows up as PII, but is 100% Phase 1. I listen all the time. Also Loudoun is much of the time Phase 1. It's random. Also Pr. William is listed as PII, but that's only schools and busses.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,982
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
There are alot of systems listed on RRDB as Phase 2 but operate mostly or all Phase 1.

The thing is, is the system is Phase 2 (compliant), it could go Phase 2 at any time - 1 talkgroup temporarily or all full time.
 

radio3353

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Messages
1,370
There are alot of systems listed on RRDB as Phase 2 but operate mostly or all Phase 1.

The thing is, is the system is Phase 2 (compliant), it could go Phase 2 at any time - 1 talkgroup temporarily or all full time.
Yes, this is a source of confusion in the RR Database. It would be nice if the admins would just put in a note if the Ph. 2 capable system is operating at the present time as Ph. 1. Just a little courtesy that would help users avoid confusion. This confusion exists with the listing for Philadelphia's TRS. It is listed as Ph. 2, but it is currently all Ph. 1.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,982
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Another point of confusion is the "D" vs. "T" for talkgroups.

Per the headings --

D means digital of some type (vs. analog).

T means "TDMA capable" which says it could be TDMA (Phase 2) at times but possibly FDMA (Phase 1) at other times.

Unfortunately, the combination of listing systems Phase 2 coupled with the talkgroup information and the fact that most users don't always know/provide which type any given talkgroup might be configured by the system owners, it's a bit of a crap shoot.

Also, if I'm not mistaken, some systems are set up such that certain talkgroups are always going to be Phase 2 while others will always be Phase 1 with the majority being dynamic based on the users on the talkgroup at the time (unless it's a fully Phase 2 closed system with all Phase 2 radios).

Talkgroups on one of the systems I listen to will sometimes be heard on the G4/G5 and then suddenly disappear. The primary reason is that at some point a Phase 1 radio was on the talkgroup and then left (changed talkgroups or left the site). If your radio isn't capable of both Phase 1 and Phase 2, this is one of those cases where you might incorrectly think something is wrong with your radio.

EDIT: sorry - we've kinda taken this thread a bit off-topic....
 
Last edited:

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
Troy I also wish TGs were better defined - DC Fire has in RR a nice note stating they operate Phase I even when the system says Phase II. Nothing like that in other systems. Just DC for some reason.
I've programmed Loudoun County P25 Phase II with a couple Loudoun County Sheriff's Office and Fire talkgroups. Note they ALL show "T" in RR.
I do hear an occasional transmission on both so I assume they have mixed radios, some operating Phase 1. I will leave them programmed so when a firmware with Phase II comes out I will just add some other talkgroups.
 
Last edited:

KM4OBL

Authorized Personnel
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
95
Location
Palookaville, USA
This has been educational for me. I've been looking at a G5 for months. I live in Alexandria - and work with police officers in all of the forces operating in DC. Will probably purchase a G5 one of these days - most likely VHF-UHF.

Cheers to all,

Jeff
 

ecarvalho

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
Glad it was helpful
Mine is VHF + 700/800Mhz
I programmed VSP (VHF), FAIRFAX PD, LCSO (they are phase 2 but most dispatch is phase 1), Arlington PD etc...
MPD is not good for me, they are encrypted
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top