Why do we need .net framework?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Ok I installed sentinel,really hate microsoft .net framework,right?
So i uninstalled .net framework and guess what? Sentinel works just fine!
Ya go figure that one out.So whats it in there and required for?
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,882
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Ok I installed sentinel,really hate microsoft .net framework,right?
So i uninstalled .net framework and guess what? Sentinel works just fine!
Ya go figure that one out.So whats it in there and required for?
What version of the framework did you uninstall? You know the Microsoft .net framework versions are designed to coexist. One of the reasons Microsoft created the .net framework is to eliminate the DLL Hell syndrome. If I remember correctly, Sentinel targets the 2.0 framework. Uninstalling a version of the framework may cause another of your programs to stop working.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Why

Why would anyone "hate" .NET framework?

That seems pretty pointless.


Because it loads my computer down,we dont all have i7's ya know.
:wink:

Goes from 230mB to 700mB ,so to me thats a big difference,why have it ,if ya dont need it?To me it seems pointless to have to install it if its not needed.I have 1 gig of memory,what do you think happens? Im not "that into" computers to get a new one.Yes ,its XP.The other weird thing is when i have .net on the hard drive light never stops going.Without it,its Off if not doing anything.As long as I can update my radios.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,063
Location
VA
Your problem is unlikely to be related to .NET framework. Only versions actively in use by an application are actually loaded into RAM. If you've got constant hard drive activity, something else is going on, such as a background virus scan, something auto-updating itself (like if you have Windows Update set to automatically download and install updates), or possibly a virus/malware/trojan using your computer as a torrent node, DDOS bot, or something along those lines.

The only negative effect of an "extra" version of .Net framework on your machine is the use of a few MB of disk space.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
.net

After taking the .net framework off,I have more memory thats available and I dont see why its needed if I dont use it or like Microsoft's MSN messenger.
Oddly the 436hp home patrol program works just fine without it.You go figure.I have had no issues since removing .net which i think is a memory hog and is microsoft spyware that bogs your machine down .
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,063
Location
VA
Says the guy who "isn't that into computers" to the guy who has been developing software professionally using Microsoft tools and products for going on 20 years.

You just uninstalled a version of .net framework other than the one Sentinel happens to use. Eventually, you're going to run across something else that you broke because you uninstalled the version of .net that it needs to work. Also, .net framework is not spyware, it's a collection of commonly used software functions. When you write a program, you can save a lot of time by using .net framework tools like file open/save dialogs, instead of constantly reinventing the wheel to build the same thing over and over again.
 

wkm

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
77
Location
WA
This has to be a joke right? If you hate .net framework why use windows at all?
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
because

This has to be a joke right? If you hate .net framework why use windows at all?

Because most radio programs dont work on a MAC and thats way out of my price range anyhow.No joke,the sentinel works fine without.
I surf the internet and use the computer for radios,thats it.
Does what I need it to do.If its not spyware then if its not needed ,then whys it there? I see it try to communicate alot when its sentinel is not even running thats my reason for removal.It also eats memory.So its toast!
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,063
Location
VA
If its not spyware then if its not needed ,then whys it there? I see it try to communicate alot when its sentinel is not even running thats my reason for removal.
That would be because .net framework is used by most windows apps, not just Sentinel. BTW, what tool are you using to determine that .net framework is communicating? And what IP address is it communicating with?
 

mancow

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
6,349
Location
N.E. Kansas
That's like removing the 4wd components from a vehicle to save gas mileage because the weather right now is fine.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,063
Location
VA
Its not communicating,its removed off my pc.
You said it was, and that's why you removed it. What IP address or site was it communicating with? What tool did you use to determine it was communicating?

What mancow said.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
firewall

My firewall blocked it,but like I said I removed .net so no foil required.
Everything on the internet is being read anyway.
Especially when you go on the porno websites.
And yes the NSA created selfies and facebook.
This way you tell them and theres no need for spying.
And I'll see you on the dark side of the moon.
 

EDCScanner

Banned for duplicate accounts
Banned
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
110
Sounds like you need more memory. Its rather cheap these days and I am not sure how you're able to even do anything with 1 GB of ram. Plus running XP which isn't even supported now. You're not doing yourself any favors. It's great you're not having any problems and it is doing what you need now but, you're missing the big picture which is what everyone is trying to tell you.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
xp

Sounds like you need more memory. Its rather cheap these days and I am not sure how you're able to even do anything with 1 GB of ram. Plus running XP which isn't even supported now. You're not doing yourself any favors. It's great you're not having any problems and it is doing what you need now but, you're missing the big picture which is what everyone is trying to tell you.

You are right,the computer is worth $40 so I dont think that will be happening.I understand,when the i7's come down,I will have one.;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top