Why the difference

gusbuster

Premium Subscriber
So I am getting back to scanning after finding my two scanners from 10+ years ago. Both are using the original stock antennas. They are both portable scanners. The first one is a Grecom PSR-500 and the other one is a Uniden BCD396T (both are digital scanners).

My question is this, Why does the PSR-500 picks up the c.h.p. on the 42.0000 frequencies much better than my 396T? Is it because the antenna on the PSR-500 better tuned than the stock antenna of the 396T?
If that is the case, what would be a better mobile/handheld scanner antenna (sma) for the 396T?
Back when i was starting to get into scanning, if i remember correctly, you have to have an antenna tuned to that band of frequencies. Both scanners do well with the P25 systems but the uniden had trouble picking up the EBRS sytem.
I am a newbie and use both arc 500 and arc 396 software for programming. That is one positive thing of saving your registration keys....at least i didn't have to pay money for the software.

I am open to any suggestions and appreciate any help i can get.
John

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
Not familiar with the psr or what antenna it came with but can you swap the antenna? In the end, an antenna turned for the freqs being used will perform the best. If you have a nano vna, you can see where the antenna resonates. Different scanners can receive better than others in different bands. My pro 93 and 95’s receive vhf better than my 436 and 200.

wtp

so use the best radio for reception.
i have 5 older analog scanners and i have one set for the 150/159 band (space station and forestry)
one for 800, basically the five 8tacs in it.
one for the 400 band (dea)
another one for business 150 band.
the thing is, the antenna dictates what goes into the radio.
longer antennas for lower freqs, shorter ones for higher ones.
and one radio has a mix of stuff 150, 400, 800 just to make sure i cover the good stuff