"Wildcard ID" for Motorola Type II Smartnet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AE4VE

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
53
Location
Warner Robins, Georgia
Can someone tell me what the DEC code/ID for Motorola Type II Smartnet's "Wildcard" is?
Or is it just the "*" symbol, like it is on the P25 Trunking systems?
(I'm not sure if this would be relevant or not but my scanner is a Radio Shack Pro-106.)
Thanks, in advance.
 

budevans

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
2,113
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
Can someone tell me what the DEC code/ID for Motorola Type II Smartnet's "Wildcard" is?
Or is it just the "*" symbol, like it is on the P25 Trunking systems?
(I'm not sure if this would be relevant or not but my scanner is a Radio Shack Pro-106.)
Thanks, in advance.
Are you programming your Pro-106 by hand (directly on the scanner) or with a software package (Win500, PSRedit500, etc..)?

If by hand, go to page 35 in the user manual.

Here's a snapshot of the page.
 
Last edited:

AE4VE

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
53
Location
Warner Robins, Georgia
Are you programming your Pro-106 by hand (directly on the scanner) or with a software package (Win500, PSRedit500, etc..)?

If by hand, go to page 35 in the user manual.

Here's a snapshot of the page.
I usually program with ARC500PRO unless I'm just adding a single item or so.
But, I understand how to program the scanner..
I was just curious if there was a specific "Wildcard" DEC or HEX code or if it was just the default "*" symbol that automatically programs in, like when adding a P25 trunking system.
For example: I read somewhere that "FFF" is the HEX code for a Wildcard for Motorola Type II systems. (But I don't know if that is actually true) And with P25 trunking, the TGID or DEC code that defaults for a Wildcard is just the symbol "*".

Or maybe I'm just putting WAY too much thought into this and over-complicating it. Lol.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
 

budevans

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
2,113
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
FYI: There are two types of Wildcards. Talk Group Wildcards (TG) which are designated as Group and Radio ID Wildcards (RID) which are designated as Private.

When you create a new entry for a Trunk System, that entry is created as a Group Wildcard. You can then change it to an ID Wildcard or enter a known TG# or RID#.

See an example from Win500.
 
Last edited:

budevans

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
2,113
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
Or maybe I'm just putting WAY too much thought into this and over-complicating it. Lol.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
You're definitely over complicating it.:D

Sorry to hear you are using ARCPro500. Just my opinion. I never liked it.
Win500 and PSRedit500 make things very simple.
 

AE4VE

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
53
Location
Warner Robins, Georgia
You're definitely over complicating it.:D

Sorry to hear you are using ARCPro500. Just my opinion. I never liked it.
Win500 and PSRedit500 make things very simple.
I'm beginning to see that. Lol.
I think I might just download WIN500 and try it out.
On ARC500PRO there isn't a column for "Group or Radio ID".. I assume that is what the "Talkgroup ID" column is on ARC500.
Here's how wildcards look on ARC500..



Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top