WIN500 Questions. Findings Dup Freq's & BackLight ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BOBRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
968
Location
Boston, MA
Hello,

Just getting going with this again.

a. Is there any way to select a column of frequencies, e.g., and ask it to highlight or designate which are Duplicates ?

b. From WIN500, is it possible to program the Scanner to always have its Backlight/Screen ON ?
I always use AC, not batteries, so no problem with power drain.

Or, does it have to be done from the Scanner itself ?

Backlight seems to be On for some Folders I Load, like my MAIN one, but not on for some of the V Folders.

Thanks,
Bob
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
6,420
Location
Dallas, TX
Hello,

Just getting going with this again.

a. Is there any way to select a column of frequencies, e.g., and ask it to highlight or designate which are Duplicates ?
The Find Duplicate Frequencies option is under the "Search" drop-down menu. Just go to the "Conventional Objects" or "All Objects" tab then use that option. That will generate a pop-up window showing the dupes.

b. From WIN500, is it possible to program the Scanner to always have its Backlight/Screen ON ?
I always use AC, not batteries, so no problem with power drain.

Or, does it have to be done from the Scanner itself ?

Backlight seems to be On for some Folders I Load, like my MAIN one, but not on for some of the V Folders.
That's on the General Settings tab, under the heading "Alert, Sound, Light, Display Settings (just to the left of the block where you can tweak the LED colors). The setting you want is under "Light Mode". Normal is going to be based on however you set it 'per object'. If you set it to "On", the backlight will be on all the time.
 

BOBRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
968
Location
Boston, MA
From OP:

Hi,

Just a quick thanks for info.

Can't imagine how I ever missed the Search Tab.
Will blame it on old age now.

Thanks for help,
Bob
 

Ensnared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
3,068
Location
Waco, Texas
Hi,

Just a quick thanks for info.

Can't imagine how I ever missed the Search Tab.
Will blame it on old age now.

Thanks for help,
Bob
If you are using the "search" function in Win500, make sure you don't delete the ones that have specific tones. I have made this mistake on more than one occasion by not paying attention to the duplicates with associated tones. For instance, I have accidentally deleted frequencies like 155.475. Typically, I leave a frequency like this with an auto search function for squelch & mode.

I don't know if you've observed the following links, but this has helped me out on several occasions. In the first hyperlink, you can see how others have programmed their radios using Win500. In the second hyperlink, you can use this for a good reference for making adjustments to your radio, etc. It is a great source of information.

WIN500 - UtahRadio

Easier to Read Pro-106/197/PSR500/600 Digital Scanner Manual
 

hpycmpr

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
272
Location
Los Angeles County, CA
Regarding the dupe check with tones, refer to the General Settings tab under Miscellaneous Settings in the lower right part of the page and check "Dupe check includes CTCSS/DCS/NAC". Should help out those inadvertent deletions.

Steve
 

BOBRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
968
Location
Boston, MA
From OP: Thanks For Links

Hi Guys,

Great Links.

Will be a truly terrific help and aid for me, without a doubt.

Thanks so much.

Best regards,
Bob
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top