Pro-96: win96 programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackgn6

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
19
Location
illinois
anyone reformat these for $? I got one and doesn't pick up much at all anymore and i dont know ANYTHING about them. I just want someone who can reput all bloom/normal info in. POLICE, ambulance, etc
 

Johnnydollar2

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
1,133
Location
IL
Pro96

I disliked Win96, ARC96 and it's free 45 day trial was better for my old Pro96. Connected with no problems. Win96 was difficult at times. I was down in Peoria IL/Chillicothe area in July and used the Pro96 picking up plenty of stuff. WISH all scanners today had it's volume and speaker capabilities. You should be able to just look at the Radio REF database for that whole area and program stuff in by hand as long as that unit isn't defective. Starcom21 should come in perfect down there as well as Tazwell County EDACS and Bloomngton ISU frequencies. Pro96 won't hear DMR Cleartalk or P25 Phase 2 TDMA. Also won't "trunk" 700mhz but can be heard if you click the right setting in ARC96 or Win96. Here's the manual.

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/137761/Radio-Shack-Pro-96.html
 
Last edited:

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,986
Location
Indianapolis, IN
You should have no problems with the SAFE-T P25, 800 MHz sites of the STARCOM-21, or an analog EDACS if its still online as those are starting to go away faster and faster to P25 upgrades. Let me know the State/County/Municipal systems you want, and I can toss a Win96 or ARC96 file together fairly quickly!
 

blackgn6

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
19
Location
illinois
milf { i love that name!} i'm in Mclean county, in bloomington /normal illinois. I just want police, and ambulance , fire , kinda things local to here. I used to be into my old scanner you pregrammed yourself, but NO clue how to do anything more than turn this win 96 on!
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,986
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Del the systems from here into win96 then Del to the scanner. Rather simple actually. All you need is paid for win96. Paid sub to RadioReference.com and the cable

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,986
Location
Indianapolis, IN
I programmed? Lol did I. Send you a file before?

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,986
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Or I can make you a new file, e-mail it to you, and you can load it in.
 

blackgn6

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
19
Location
illinois
ok you can make me a file if you want. BUT either way i GOT to by the cable, and paid subscription to the forum?
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,986
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Buy the cable yes. Sub is not for just forums. Its for the entire database. And ability to directly download from it to your scanner via software. Unless you want to manually program everything which somethings you can't do.

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

blackgn6

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
19
Location
illinois
ok i found a full usb programming cable and driver software with a orange el box. so i assume this will do it.! i misewell try it
 

blackgn6

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
19
Location
illinois
well thanks anyways, im just gonna mess it up. I'll have to find someone local here. Im a pc geek but not a scanner freak !!!!! thanks anyways
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top