Windows 7 can't run old DOS Program I use on/off

Status
Not open for further replies.

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
I am using a DOS program (Fire tone out tone reeds to the cap codes) seems Windows 7 can not open it at all. Any ideas?
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,584
Location
Greensboro, NC
Right click the program, go to "properties" and "Compatibility" tab and you should see it.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
I have done that I put windows 7 keeps giving me the error unless I need to restart computer
 
Last edited:

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,584
Location
Greensboro, NC
I have done that I put windows 7 keeps giving me the error unless I need to restart computer
From the screen shot, looks like maybe you are running a 64 bit version of windows 7 or vice versa and the program does not support this. I would do some research on the program to see what bit operating system it supports.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
I try a few settings just might be like you stated above.
 
Last edited:

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
It was on the windows xp sp3 I dropped it to windows 7 click apply and than ok and still comes up I wonder if I need to restart the computer? I even try to click a few boxes also. I see the program is from late 80's.
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,584
Location
Greensboro, NC
It was on the windows xp sp3 I dropped it to windows 7 click apply and than ok and still comes up I wonder if I need to restart the computer? I even try to click a few boxes also. I see the program is from late 80's.
You can try a restart but its really not needed. Id say if its from the late 80's its time to look for some alternatives :)
 

W2NJS

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
1,934
Location
Washington DC
If you can eventually get your Windows OS to run what it calls DOS you will probably have a lot of trouble making an old Motorola RSS program work. To make an old DOS RSS work you must boot and run the computer in pure DOS, probably version 6.22, which is available for free on the internet. Doing otherwise you will run a serious risk of ruining your radio and it will need a trip to the Motorola depot to be fixed. This subject has been discussed at length in many, many threads on this site as well as on Batlabs. Go to http://batboard.batlabs.com and do a search using "DOS 6.22" as the title.
 
Last edited:

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
If you can eventually get your Windows OS to run what it calls DOS you will probably have a lot of trouble making an old Motorola RSS program work. To make an old DOS RSS work you must boot and run the computer in pure DOS, probably version 6.22, which is available for free on the internet. Doing otherwise you will run a serious risk of ruining your radio and it will need a trip to the Motorola depot to be fixed. This subject has been discussed at length in many, many threads on this site as well as on Batlabs. Go to Batboard • Index page and do a search using "DOS 6.22" as the title.
I'm not having trouble with RSS software. I have trouble with the CCII Pager exe files. I can type the Tone A and B... 1185.2A 539.0B comes up 4029 for the HEX or Cap Code.
 

mancow

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
5,967
Location
N.E. Kansas
Have you checked to see if your PC can boot from a USB device? I use a 1 Gig USB memory stick setup as a bootable DOS drive full of DOS based programs. My CF-18 Toughbook will recognize it as a boot device and I can select it in the BIOS boot config on startup. I have programmed everything from sabers to Jedi series portables with it with absolutely no problems.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
I never thought of that I'll try that I do have a 1 gig usb drive I can try out.
 
K

kb0nly

Guest
The thumb drive is a great option, thats what i tell everyone to do also.

I installed Dos 6.22 to a 1gb thumb drive along with all my RSS and dos programs that i need, most newer computers, and even some older ones will boot from USB, go into your Bios settings and check the boot options.

If it makes you add it to the boot options then add it AFTER the hard drive entry though, otherwise on some systems it makes boot time go through the roof, as it will sit and check every USB port for a device and if its bootable, etc.

On my Dell's i can plug in a thumb drive and tap F12 to select the drive and boot from it.

I have a desktop setup on my workbench with a tri boot, XP, Dos, and 98SE. I can always run whatever i need over there.
 

davidgcet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
1,250
i run CCII on my Win 7 32 bit laptop all the time. don't create a shortcut to it, open a CMD prompt and run it that way. on my computer i open CMD, type in cd\mfiles, then type CCII. it opens and runs just fine that way. same way on my other laptop which is Vista 64 bit.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,456
Location
#850Strong
I bought a laptop has xp on it. I am starting to hate win7 more cause my usb cable to program my icom radio won't work and I even updated the usb driver nothing........ I also can't run my camcorders either not supported...... I'll be selling this when the other one coming in.
 
K

kb0nly

Guest
USB problems is one reason i love Win7, never had one yet.

If the camcorders are supported in XP they will work in 7.. I haven't found anything yet that won't work on 7 if it was at least XP compatible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top