Windows 8.1 full or RT

Status
Not open for further replies.

K7TKR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
258
Location
Based in Phoenix, Arizona
I'm using Win500 on an 8.1 machine and not having any issues at all. Not sure what your asking so going by the thread title.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 

ryolsen8

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
361
Location
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Windows RT is NOT the full version of Windows 8. All it can run are apps from the Mircrosft Store and Mircrosft Word, Powerpoint, etc.

If you want to run Scanner Programming Software, you need to buy a Tablet with Windows 8.1.
 

Anvil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 4, 2003
Messages
24
Location
Minnesota
I have a Dell Venue 8 Pro with Win 8.1 Pro and have used ARC536Pro, Sentinel and Scanner Screen. Connecting to rear serial port with StarTech null modem/USB adapter FTDI. I'm also using ProScan with 396 & 996 so I think the 536 version will work when it comes out. No problems after I stopped using front USB.
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,775
Location
Fortunately, GA
Thanks, all. I didn't think that RT would work. Nice to know there is another serial port on the Dell Venue.
Larry
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,775
Location
Fortunately, GA
I have a Dell Venue 8 Pro with Win 8.1 Pro and have used ARC536Pro, Sentinel and Scanner Screen. Connecting to rear serial port with StarTech null modem/USB adapter FTDI. I'm also using ProScan with 396 & 996 so I think the 536 version will work when it comes out. No problems after I stopped using front USB.
The only serial port is the micro USB on that tablet. Having held one in my hand, I didn't see any other than the headphone and SD card port. Enlighten me please.
Larry
 

mm

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
616
n8ia beat me to that answer. I am on a venue 8 pro right now and there is no other serial or USB port, only the single USB/charging port near the on/off button and volume up/down.

no issues here using a ftdi USB to serial adapter.
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,775
Location
Fortunately, GA
The problem I would find is that not only to I have Uniden scanners that came with the serial cable, but, I program GRE/RS scanners that use a USB only. This is why I asked.
Larry
 

Anvil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 4, 2003
Messages
24
Location
Minnesota
I was referring to the serial port on the 536. Sorry I didn't make that clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top