Sentinel: Windows installation software failure for SDS200

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
So, I have looked at posted information but I am not finding guidance on this issue. Masterscanners punted to RadioFrequency and RadioFrequency has punted to Uniden. This unit is a 2 month old SDS200. I have downloaded the most current Sentinel software that I can find. When I attempt to install the Windowsinstallation software onto my Windows 10 laptop I get this menu posted: 'not enough resources are available to process this command'. This happened with the KB893803 V 2 and with the 58B8154B....which I assume are software identifiers. Long story shortened (after 3 hours of working on this) no updates. The internal troubleshooting system supplied by microsoft in my OS stated: 'this software is for a different hardware platform'....this was the KB893803 V 2 version. Is there a solution or means of installing the/an installation software?
 

KevinC

Other
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
11,644
Location
Home
So, I have looked at posted information but I am not finding guidance on this issue. Masterscanners punted to RadioFrequency and RadioFrequency has punted to Uniden. This unit is a 2 month old SDS200. I have downloaded the most current Sentinel software that I can find. When I attempt to install the Windowsinstallation software onto my Windows 10 laptop I get this menu posted: 'not enough resources are available to process this command'. This happened with the KB893803 V 2 and with the 58B8154B....which I assume are software identifiers. Long story shortened (after 3 hours of working on this) no updates. The internal troubleshooting system supplied by microsoft in my OS stated: 'this software is for a different hardware platform'....this was the KB893803 V 2 version. Is there a solution or means of installing the/an installation software?
No help, but who are "Masterscanners" and "RadioFrequency"?
 

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
Masterscanners are the vendor of the Uniden SDS200. Radio Frequency is an associated group that has information of tracking and mapping of various frequencies used in radio systems (I think). I have finally realized this problem I have does not involve either of those organizations and is really a software/hardware compatibility issue to be addressed with......Uniden.....? Who knows.
 

nessnet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
1,804
Location
Eastside of Lake WA
Masterscanners are the vendor of the Uniden SDS200. Radio Frequency is an associated group that has information of tracking and mapping of various frequencies used in radio systems (I think). I have finally realized this problem I have does not involve either of those organizations and is really a software/hardware compatibility issue to be addressed with......Uniden.....? Who knows.
BTW...
It's Scanner Masters
And Radio Reference....

And, it's doubtful a Uniden problem also.
Again, you have something going on on YOUR end (Windows or hardware...)

Sentinel's "user.config" file can become corrupted.
Go to: C:\Users\[YourUserName]\AppData\Local\Uniden
Find the sub-folder that begins with "BCDx36HP_Sentinel.exe_Url_"
Delete that entire sub-folder, be sure you are deleting just that specific sub folder.
Re-start Sentinel.
 
Last edited:

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
Yes. I did download the most current version of Sentinel that I am aware of. It is really the windows installation program or, as you are suggesting, my computer. I'm the most ignorant IT guy I've ever met and alas, I'm in charge. I've no idea what 'locked down' implies but this computer does not appear, to me, to be locked down in any way.
 

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
BTW...
It's Scanner Masters
And Radio Reference....

And, it's doubtful a Uniden problem also.
Again, you have something going on on YOUR end (Windows or hardware...)
OK. Got it. One wonders how to troubleshoot 'my end' of the problem. Clearly, the troubleshooting system in the OS from Microsoft is woefully inadequate.
 

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
BTW...
It's Scanner Masters
And Radio Reference....

And, it's doubtful a Uniden problem also.
Again, you have something going on on YOUR end (Windows or hardware...)

Sentinel's "user.config" file can become corrupted.
Go to: C:\Users\[YourUserName]\AppData\Local\Uniden
Find the sub-folder that begins with "BCDx36HP_Sentinel.exe_Url_"
Delete that entire sub-folder, be sure you are deleting just that specific sub folder.
Re-start Sentinel.
Oh, geez....sorry about misspelling BOTH of those agencies. I've been too buried in this IT stuff and now I'm probably misspelling my own name. LOL. I'll see what I can do with this pathway. This also strikes me as being valid (corrupted file)
 

CopTracker

CopScanner
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
Messages
6
Location
Westminster Maryland
Masterscanners are the vendor of the Uniden SDS200. Radio Frequency is an associated group that has information of tracking and mapping of various frequencies used in radio systems (I think). I have finally realized this problem I have does not involve either of those organizations and is really a software/hardware compatibility issue to be addressed with......Uniden.....? Who knows.
You mean MasterScanners
 

donc13

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,390
Location
Grand Junction, CO
Those numbers you got the errors on are Microsoft Patch errors. Not Sentinel errors. My guess is the problem is you haven't added. NET 2. O/3.5 that Sentinel requires to run.
 

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
Those numbers you got the errors on are Microsoft Patch errors. Not Sentinel errors. My guess is the problem is you haven't added. NET 2. O/3.5 that Sentinel requires to run.
Well, this software downloaded to my machine but I am not sure that it was 'installed' correctly. This problem seems to be an installation issue. I will try dumping the NET that I have downloaded and re-load a new one in case that portion was corrupted with the processing. Thanks.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
7,239
Well, this software downloaded to my machine but I am not sure that it was 'installed' correctly. This problem seems to be an installation issue. I will try dumping the NET that I have downloaded and re-load a new one in case that portion was corrupted with the processing. Thanks.
Sentinel requires .NET 2.0 specifically. To repair or install .NET 2.0....

In the Windows search bar, type "Programs and features" and click on "turn Windows features on or off"

Once that window populates, look at the checkbox next to ".NET Framework 3.5 (Includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0)”. If that box is not checked, be sure to check it.

To repair .NET 2.0 if you already have it installed (the box mentioned above is already checked) and you suspect it's corrupted...

Un-check that box, click "ok" and reboot the computer. Now go back to the same area noted above and re-check the box for ".NET Framework 3.5 (Includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0)”. Click ok and reboot the computer again. Now see if Sentinel will install and run.
 

DLittleone

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2024
Messages
12
Sentinel requires .NET 2.0 specifically. To repair or install .NET 2.0....

In the Windows search bar, type "Programs and features" and click on "turn Windows features on or off"

Once that window populates, look at the checkbox next to ".NET Framework 3.5 (Includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0)”. If that box is not checked, be sure to check it.

To repair .NET 2.0 if you already have it installed (the box mentioned above is already checked) and you suspect it's corrupted...

Un-check that box, click "ok" and reboot the computer. Now go back to the same area noted above and re-check the box for ".NET Framework 3.5 (Includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0)”. Click ok and reboot the computer again. Now see if Sentinel will install and run.
Fantastic. Thanks for the clear guidance on that. We'll see what happens.
 
Top