WS1095 Wildcard Option

Status
Not open for further replies.

philipwiller

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
9
What is the purpose of adding a wildcard? And what is the correct way to do this via the software? thank you
 

RaleighGuy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,110
Location
Raleigh, NC
It allows any TG not programmed into the scanner to be heard. This allows you to discover new talkgroups in use. You would go to the trunked system tab then to talkgroups tab (half way down the page). On the right side you'll see add wildcard button, you can do the same for users/radio IDs which will allow you to hear the private calls that some systems utilize (and some don't).
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5,663
Location
Baltimore County, MD
As N1GAW says, the Wildcard will allow you to monitor all talkgroups on the system and not be limited to the talkgroups programmed. When you click on the Wildcard button, you will be given the option to assign the Wildcard to one or multiple scan lists.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
6,048
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
When a totally new system is put into place, often we don't all know the TGs. Heck we might not know ANY! What you can do is program only the wildcard and let 'er scan. As each TG ID comes up, Store it. If it's something you don't want to monitor, store it and lock it out. As they get identified you can add alpha tags. If it's a small system you can continue this way. If it's a large system, it takes a lot of memory just to hold the locked-out TGs. How to handle is up to you.
 

RaleighGuy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,110
Location
Raleigh, NC
Keep in mind though, if you do not have all known TGs programmed in (even if locked out) the wildcard will identify the TGs NOT programmed. So if a unit happens to affliate with one of your towers the wildcard will pick up their TG. So, just because it says it is an unknown TG always check the RR database.
 

philipwiller

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
9
Keep in mind though, if you do not have all known TGs programmed in (even if locked out) the wildcard will identify the TGs NOT programmed. So if a unit happens to affliate with one of your towers the wildcard will pick up their TG. So, just because it says it is an unknown TG always check the RR database.
Keep in mind though, if you do not have all known TGs programmed in (even if locked out) the wildcard will identify the TGs NOT programmed. So if a unit happens to affliate with one of your towers the wildcard will pick up their TG. So, just because it says it is an unknown TG always check the RR database.
Thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top