• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XG-75P questions

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,440
Location
Coconut Creek
I have an XG-75P with R06M03 firmware. Should I be able to read/write with RPM R14C05?

Also, is there a contrast adjustment for the display? I couldn't find one.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Staff member
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
7,068
Location
Ohio
I have an XG-75P with R06M03 firmware. Should I be able to read/write with RPM R14C05?

Only if it hasn't been written with RPM2 previously. I've never tried writing an RPM codeplug to a radio that had been written with RPM2 (once I started using RPM2 I never went back to RPM except for my XG100P).

Also, is there a contrast adjustment for the display? I couldn't find one.

If that menu choice is enabled, yes.
 

RayAir

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,937
I have an XG-75P with R06M03 firmware. Should I be able to read/write with RPM R14C05?

Also, is there a contrast adjustment for the display? I couldn't find one.

I have one that came with R06M03 and a personality version of 95.0. I could write to it with R14C05.
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,440
Location
Coconut Creek
Question: I have created a custom scan list. There is a menu item called "CUSTSCAN", but it doesn't allow me to view or select anything.
If I understand what I have read correctly, I have to select "Enhanced Control Channel" for the custom scan list to be usable?

Also, all talkgroups in the custom scan list must have the same WACN and system ID for it to work?

No conventional channels involved, NAS scanning only.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Staff member
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
7,068
Location
Ohio
Question: I have created a custom scan list. There is a menu item called "CUSTSCAN", but it doesn't allow me to view or select anything.
If I understand what I have read correctly, I have to select "Enhanced Control Channel" for the custom scan list to be usable?

Also, all talkgroups in the custom scan list must have the same WACN and system ID for it to work?

No conventional channels involved, NAS scanning only.

I haven't done custom scan quite as much with an XG75, as we mostly use XL200 portables. However, that menu selection should allow you to select the list you wish to edit, and once you're in it you have to select the "edit" selection. Clear as mud, right?
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,440
Location
Coconut Creek
Well, selecting "CUSTSCAN" and then pressing "M" it then just goes back to the main display.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Staff member
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
7,068
Location
Ohio
Well, selecting "CUSTSCAN" and then pressing "M" it then just goes back to the main display.

I'll have to play around with a couple of the XG75Ps sitting in my office when I get back on Thursday and let you know, if you haven't figured it out by then.
 

BMDaug

I am licensed…
Joined
Jan 18, 2022
Messages
1,134
Location
Central Colorado, USA
Never used a 75… but you create the custom scan list in RPM, then assign it at the system level. Once assigned, you can switch between the system scan list and the custom scan list, where you can edit the scan members from that menu. I’m not sure you can just create a scan list from scratch on the 75.

-B
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,440
Location
Coconut Creek
Another XG-75 question:

Is there a way to use cheap earbuds for listening only with the XG-75P? All of the audio adapters I have seen for this radio use a Hirose or QD "Quick Disconnect" connector. Most cheap earbuds have a 3.5mm stereo connector. I can't find an audio adapter for the XG-75 that has a 3.5mm audio jack.

BTW, is a Hirose connector the same thing as the "Quick Disconnect" connector I have seen on some of these devices?
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,440
Location
Coconut Creek
You may need to find or make a hirose to 3.5mm. You could also use a Bluetooth adapter. They make one that connects to the udc.

-B
I've seen some Hirose to 3.5mm adapters; plus I would need the adapter that attaches to the radio. Or I could go with bluetooth; those adapters run around $100. Also I've seen some aftermarket speaker mics that have a built in 3.5mm jack. I just have to decide which route to take. The aftermarket speaker mic would probably be the cheapest. Some of the listening solutions I have found cost almost as much as I paid for the radio!
 
Top