• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XPR7550 New Housing Issue

Air11

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
446
Location
Mississauga, Ontatrio Canada
Hello all,

I just recently purchased a OEM hosing for my XPR7550. Once I finished the re-housing I noticed when I turned on the radio, the MOTOTRBO trademark screen was not displayed. Just a black screen and it went right to the welcome screen. Any thoughts on what would cause this?

Thank you

Michael
 

Tech21

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
118
Does the radio work otherwise? You may just have to upload your own .bmp image for the splash screen.
 

Ant9270

Deranged Individual
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
455
Do you have the splash intro screen enabled or removed under General Settings?
 

Tech21

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
118
In CPS there should be a "Welcome Bitmap" line right above general settings. It may have not been a feature you had before which is probably why it doesn't show or you may just need to rewrite the codeplug.
 

Air11

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
446
Location
Mississauga, Ontatrio Canada
Update. Looks like the new housing wont even communicate with the chassis. Tried plugging in a RSM and programming cable with no luck. Ive have contacted the seller to see if he can send me a replacement.
 

Ant9270

Deranged Individual
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
455
Have you checked your flex connections and seated it properly onto the chassis? Even the slightest bend in the flex or misplacement can throw the whole unit off. I would check those first, if you haven't already.
 

Air11

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
446
Location
Mississauga, Ontatrio Canada
Ive seem to of solved half the problem. I swapped out the ribbon connectors, now I've also rewritten the original codepluq and the current codeplug and Mototrbo was displayed on the first power cycle. Every power since then it hasn't been displayed
 
Last edited:
Top