• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XPR7580e Trunking Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
46
Was wondering if the XPR7580e can be programmed for an 800mhz P25 and P25 Phase II System for Receive Only, similar to a scanner? Prefer the sound quality of the Motorola radio vs a Uniden scannner. If i were to program the frequencies and talkgroups will it work or does the radio have to be "acknowledged" or entered into the agency's system to communicate with it and receive the signal. Any help on this would be appreciated before I buy the radio. Thanks!
 

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
46
Thank you, Do you know if there is an XPR model that will? Im looking to receive a Type II Smartzone system and P25 Phase II Digital system..
 

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
46
What would be a good choice for what im looking for and can it be done or does the agency's sysytem need to see or identify the radio with a "key" or some sort of ID to allow it to receive?
 

hill

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
802
Location
Middle River, MD
Best just to purchase a scanner. With the new Uniden scanners and the Unification pagers that work great on simulcast systems there is really no need to purchase a high cost Motorola to monitor the systems.

There are ways to make a Motorola work on Non Affiliate Scan, but it takes a lot of knowledge at not good for new people. If make an error the radio can be bricked and cause issues systems users.
 

TampaTyron

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
866
Location
Tampa, FL
mikey224,
If that is something you are looking to do without breaking the law and/or getting your radio zapped so it cannot be repaired, you will need to invest hundreds or thousands of hours of time figuring out how to do it. As a radio technician, I strongly suggest you get a scanner OR (if you are affiliated with th organizations you want to monitor) get them to give you legitimate system access. TT
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,427
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
If you have a XPR6580 that has not been flashed for digital, it can monitor a Smartzone system. I’ve been listening to the system south of me for several years on a 6580, & it can not be zapped either. But very soon that system is going to be Phase 2, & then I’ll Flash it to digital.
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,470
If you have a XPR6580 that has not been flashed for digital, it can monitor a Smartzone system. I’ve been listening to the system south of me for several years on a 6580, & it can not be zapped either. But very soon that system is going to be Phase 2, & then I’ll Flash it to digital.
Oh really? How so? I'm intrigued
 

Ant9270

Deranged Individual
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
470
If you're looking for something thats TDMA/FDMA trunking capable, with the same "form factor" of the XPR7580, You should look at the APX900. Literally an XPR75xx with P25/Trunking firmware.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top