• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XPR8300 failed upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkpugh1

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
4
Hi All. I have an XPR8300 that failed a firmware upgrade and is now just sitting there with the Power LED on and Disabled LED flashing when it's powered up. The Flashzap device is recognized by Windows, but the CPS doesn't see the radio anymore. Does anyone have any advice for where to go from here?

thanks!
jamie
 

TampaTyron

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
895
Location
Tampa, FL
There is a process to boot the repeater in "Boostrap" mode with a jumper plugged into the accessory connector. Once in bootstrap mode, then is is possible to SOMETIMES start the "RECOVER" option on the 8300. I say sometimes because I have about a 33% success rate in recovering these. Good Luck! TT
 

jkpugh1

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
4
Thanks, TT! That's exactly what I figured had to exist somewhere, but I think I've read everything on the internet I can find on these things and coming up empty. Any clues where I can find info on the appropriate pins to jump? Moto wants $450 to repair and it seems like this could be an easy fix.

jamie
 

TampaTyron

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
895
Location
Tampa, FL
Tying 16, 17 & 23 together on the accessory port will put the radio into FlashZap mode. There is also a couple of good threads that cover this over on another Canadian based radio site. TT
 

jkpugh1

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
4
Thanks for the info. I believe I found all the info you're referring to and still no dice. Looks like it's going back to Moto for repair. Absolutely amazing that their flat fee to fix these things is nearly half of what they're worth at the moment. Appreciate the help!

jamie
 

TampaTyron

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
895
Location
Tampa, FL
Did you try to recover each radio separately? Disconnect the TX and RX bricks from the controller/network card and try to recover them individually. TT



Thanks for the info. I believe I found all the info you're referring to and still no dice. Looks like it's going back to Moto for repair. Absolutely amazing that their flat fee to fix these things is nearly half of what they're worth at the moment. Appreciate the help!

jamie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top