• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTL5000

Status
Not open for further replies.

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
Ok have a simple question I hope..... i have a xtl5000 dash mount with W7 control head.... i have a O5 head with correct head bridge and flex cable my question is to swap it over do i change it in the CPS 1st then swap or do i swap it and read and change it...?
 

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
OK I installed the head on the radio and now I get "maintenance mode local device " and can't read or wright to the radio...... using all factory Motorola Cables
 

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
OK I think I need control head sync file does anyone have the one for a 05 this head was a M5 but I did the conversion on the jumper
 

n3obl

Ø
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,484
Location
PA
try putting back together as a w series and change control head type.
 

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
That is my next step.... I read on another site that I might need the control head sync file being that R20 does not have it...
 

sfd119

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,743
Change it in CPS first, then swap. Should be able to read/write the radio still using the rear port of the radio.
 

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
Ok i will pull the radio out of my unit and try that on Wednesday (days off) thanks for the help i will post results
 

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
Ok head swapping was a success.... thanks all now the issue is i’m getting an 9/10 error .... does this mean i need to rekey my radio with DES and AES keys...? Module was set for infinite key but ..?
 

LowderK

LEO / Paramedic
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
189
Location
Western Oklahoma
Ok this is a factory xtl5000 vhf that i added a converted m2500 head to now on startup when placed into service mode it does not show the encryption module...!!! Any ideals
 

sfd119

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,743
The Fail 09/10 error is an issue with the secure hardware. There are different UCM carriers for the O series heads. That's probably the issue.
 

sfd119

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,743
No, it cannot. They can be found cheap online. You'll need to get rekeyed as it'll lose the keys once you pull the UCM from the carrier board.
 

BigLebowski

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
701
Location
Piedmont NC
09/10 usually means that the UCM isn't talking to the radio. I've not seen it as a result of the wrong carrier board before, which usually manifests as the radio power cycling when you transmit secure but it's possible. Did you mess with the secure module or carrier board at all? If so I would reseat them. You need an MHLN6918 carrier board for the O5 head.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top