• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS 1500 Buttons Not Working

Status
Not open for further replies.

EMTLJB

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
42
Location
Morris County, NJ
Anybody have any ideas where to look for programming errors when it comes to the programmable buttons on the XTS 1500 radio (display, no keypad).

The top button toggles back and forth (on its own) the assignment of the bottom buttons as does the upper button. The middle and lower buttons give no response at all.

I have checked the software button configuration and all looks good. Tried reloading the codeplug with no change. Tried clearing the button configurations and I still am getting the error tones. I'm thinking it may be a hardware issue at this point.

Thanks for the help and insight.
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,669
Location
New Orleans region
Anybody have any ideas where to look for programming errors when it comes to the programmable buttons on the XTS 1500 radio (display, no keypad).

The top button toggles back and forth (on its own) the assignment of the bottom buttons as does the upper button. The middle and lower buttons give no response at all.

I have checked the software button configuration and all looks good. Tried reloading the codeplug with no change. Tried clearing the button configurations and I still am getting the error tones. I'm thinking it may be a hardware issue at this point.

Thanks for the help and insight.

You are not providing much information as to what your trying to get the buttons to do. No info, no reply is all your going to get.

Some pointers before you go off the deep end here. Many button functions are related to how the channel or zone personalities are set. Like if you program a button to scan, but don't have a scan list programmed for that personality, you won't get any scan. Many of the other selections work the same way. The same thing for a talk around or simplex operation on a repeater pair. If the T/A block is not checked for the channel, you don't get the function.
 

EMTLJB

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
42
Location
Morris County, NJ
Jim - Thanks for responding back. Wasn't sure what information would be most valuable to someone trying to troubleshoot without having the radio in front of them.

I had the top button programmed to Scan, Upper to Nuisance Delete, Middle to Zone Bank, Bottom to TalkAround/Site Displ for trunking. Same configuration for conventional and trunking set-ups. All buttons had worked as programmed for 5 months until the user swapped batteries one day (always used Motorola Batteries).

Now the top button is toggling both scan and zone, upper button gives a error 'boop' and changes zones, middle and bottom buttons do not change functions or give any audible feedback. Programming shows the original configuration, however.

Hope this helps, let me know if you need any more details.

Thank you.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
The other possibility is that you have a flex issue. The side buttons communicate to the radio via a flex. Sometimes wiping a flex a couple of times cures erratic behavior.
 

Batwings21

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
56
The other possibility is that you have a flex issue. The side buttons communicate to the radio via a flex. Sometimes wiping a flex a couple of times cures erratic behavior.
Incorrect, on an XTS1500, PR1500, MT1500, XTS2500 the side buttons and PTT button are micro-switches soldered to the board, more than likely they have popped off the board and need to be reattached its a fairly common failure on these as well as the ht750/1250 if they are used roughly.
 

EMTLJB

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
42
Location
Morris County, NJ
Incorrect, on an XTS1500, PR1500, MT1500, XTS2500 the side buttons and PTT button are micro-switches soldered to the board, more than likely they have popped off the board and need to be reattached its a fairly common failure on these as well as the ht750/1250 if they are used roughly.
I could see how this would cause no response from the buttons. Would that also explain the wacky behavior of the top and upper buttons, though?
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
14,674
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I think the user is not telling you the truth. I doubt this happened by him simply swapping batteries. I'd be more likely to believe that the radio was dropped or otherwise subjected to some sort of trauma. Any signs of damage on the case?

I'd start by opening up the radio and taking a close look inside, specifically focusing on the solder joints. Looks for signs that it was opened by someone who didn't know how to open it, etc.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
Incorrect, on an XTS1500, PR1500, MT1500, XTS2500 the side buttons and PTT button are micro-switches soldered to the board, more than likely they have popped off the board and need to be reattached its a fairly common failure on these as well as the ht750/1250 if they are used roughly.
Quite right. I must have been reading side buttons but thinking front buttons, which wouldn't apply to OP's radio anyhow. Low brain voltage.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top