• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS 2500 and Scanlist Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

colby4601

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Messages
124
Hello all,

My XTS 2500 currently has a scan list set up and scanning however it will only allow 10 talkgroups to be scanned, not 15 or 16 (or whatever it is). Does anybody have any idea or advice as to what may be causing this problem and how I can fix it?

Thanks,
 

k0pwo

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
431
Location
Centennial Colorado
The xts2500 only allows 10 talkgroups/channels per scan list.. . you are able to put more talkgroups/channels in the zone.. but you cannot scan more than 10 in the scan list... Its not like the specras and such that allow 16
 

kd8omt

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
0
Location
Letart, WV
i wonder why moto does that kinda stuff. kenwood and others allow you to scan more. i know its a pain in the butt to be limited to small scan numbers. my county has 11 or 12 repeaters so if i want to scan my county and surrounding counties i have to take my own stuff out. granted they arent busy repeaters by anymeans but still. oh well maybe moto will one day open that up a little bit.
 

Nasby

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2004
Messages
2,476
Location
Ohio
And its like Moto is taking a step back. The old Jedi's would scan 15 channels. Geez.
 

talviar

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
328
Location
Uniontown, PA
And its like Moto is taking a step back. The old Jedi's would scan 15 channels. Geez.
Every jedi (MTX8000 and MTS2000) on my system currently can only scan 11 (10 in the scan list + selected channel). There is no way to add more than 10 in the scan list. (Over 2000 of these radios on the system)

MTX8250's are in the same boat.
MCS2000 Mobiles, XTS Portables and XTL Portables are in the same boat

Spectra for some reason is the only one to permit 16 talkgroups on scan.

This has been my $2.25 and YMMV!
 

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,318
Location
Medford, NJ
I have noticed that other manufactorers are going to dynamic allocated memory like modern day scanners which allows any number of channels in the scan lists. Also some manufactors get rid of the scan list all together and just make the zone list the scan list then one selects from the zone which channels they want to scan. Multi-zone scan is another nice feature motorola drops the ball on. I know you can add channels from any zone to a scan on a motorola but its still only 10 +1, it's much simpler to just have zones with multi-zone scan option. I hear these complaints about the 10 channel scan lists all the time. I don't know why they limit thier radios....
 

jhooten

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
1,503
Location
Paige, Republic of Texas
/\/\ builds commercial radios not scanners. They claim a study done many years ago showed more scanned channels caused too many missed transmissions and an information overload situation for the officers. They also claim to have polled end users and determined most only wanted a limited number of channels scanned to keep officers focused on their assigned area, not to worry about what was going on in other areas.
 

bezking

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
2,661
Location
On the Road
Also on TRSes scanning too many TGs seems to cause problems... I recall an article that was posted on the site a while back where people scanning too many TGs on a statewide TRS resulted in the system running out of free channels...
 

XTS3000

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
1,082
The XTL and XTS5000 radios will scan 15+1 talkgroups. The XTS2500 can as well, but it requires a software hack.
Agreed. You'll need a s/w hack, but once you learn what needs to be done you can have any number of scan members. Having 32 TRS scan members doesn't slow the TRS scanning what so ever vs. factory 10 scan members. The processor is fast enough in the Astro25 radios to handle at least 32 scan members, even the Astro radios can handle 32 TRS scan members. There is a limit to the conventional and TRS scan members however. Tried having somewhere around 50 scan members and the CPS puked and crashed while packing the codeplug. The radio might have been able to deal with 50 scans, but the CPS sure didn't know how to deal with packing the codeplug.

Bottom line the scan members limit is more a CPS limitation than a radio limit. This is true for the Astro25, Astro, Jedi, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top