• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS 2500I

Status
Not open for further replies.

716polarbear

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
26
Location
Buffalo N Y
I got my Motorloa XTS 2500I but can any tell me how to get it to connect to the repeater mode! The Icon for direct is on some channels. I need it to hit the repeater in my jurisdiction! Any help with the FPP would be great! Hope not a software issue! Thanks!
 

Motoman55

Member
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
249
Location
1FC
If it's has the FPP option you have to program the transmit and receive frequencies and the correct PL or DPL in. What department and channel are you trying to program? I'm in Rochester but very knowledgable with Erie County.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,083
Location
Central Ontario
When you're in the CPS checking your programming, assign a switch, button or menu item to that function.
 

rjk_165

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
481
Usually a side key is assigned to that, or the A/B/C switch which I believe the XTS2500I has.
 

kb2ztx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
515
Location
South West Virginia
Looks like it is programmed incorrectly. In the programming software what does it show in the personalities ? The only time that will show up is when it is a simplex channel. What version CPS are you using ?
 

716polarbear

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
26
Location
Buffalo N Y
The Icon doesn't show up on all repeater Channels, Also nothing found in Menu. Need software for the unit which I have not obtained yet! Included with the software would need cabls and something called a RIB box! Anyone no where I can get these devices? Thank You again! B Safe guy's.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,083
Location
Central Ontario
You don't need a RIB, just a cable. Software is available only from Motorola.

If the icon is not showing up on the other repeater channels, chances are you've got something wrong with the programming for that channel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top