• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS 3000 Won't Receive

Status
Not open for further replies.

peelscan111

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
12
I have a xts 3000 Model 1 that no longer receives.

can anyone tell me what parts I may need to replace for that part of the radio.
or any other thoughts on it.
 

PeterGV

K1PGV
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
754
Location
Mont Vernon, NH
Well, since you didn't mention it, I have to ask... Are you sure the battery is charged? Are you sure about the programming? Does it not receive AT ALL, even in the presence of a strong signal with correct PL on frequency?

For an XTS-3000 Model 1, I'd suggest it'd probably be cheaper at this point to replace it than to fix it.

Peter
K1PGV
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,503
Location
San Diego, CA
LOL. Like a patient coming to a doctor that says "I'm sick, cure me" you have LOTS more information to shell out before anyone can tell you what is wrong with your radio.
 

peelscan111

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
12
LoL, just opening up the discussion.

k I have used 3 differnt codeplugs that currently work on 3 other radios.. programming issue can be ruled out based on that.

the battery is charged there is an antenna lol, and its within range of the signal. the radio seems to tx just fine but its dead on the receive end.

hope that clears up a few thing.
 

K6CRB

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
12
Does the channels have a rx tone? Some repeaters do not pass pl tones to rx. Does the red light come on when the other station is transmiting

Chet
K6CRB
 

FFPM571

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
1,227
Location
Chicago area
is that the same radio that you counldnt get to read? If so I bet some of the settings in the alignment are hosed. You should have it aligned by someone with a service monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top