• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS2500 FPP With CPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtech48

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
251
Location
OVB
I recently purchased a Motorola XTS 2500 from an ebay seller with tags. Radio Came WIth FPP, Flash COde is 520001-001304-7, Firmware is 9.00.28 and DSP is 15.00.05. I took the radio to a friend who is attempting to re-program it to change abc toggle switch, remove zones and is unable to modify it. He cant even modify channels, he is Using Astro 25 cps v.16. Has anyone come across this issue, any solutions?. Any Help Is Highly Appreciated
 

XTS3000

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
1,097
Can you even read the radio's codeplug? Sounds like the previous owner may have locked down the radio with ASK. Without the ASK, you may not be able to reprogram certain CPS fields.
 

jtech48

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
251
Location
OVB
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.4; en-us; ADR6400L 4G Build/GRJ22) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

Yes he can read it and he also saved it
 

N4DES

0598 Czar
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,243
Location
South FL
If you can read it and save it that means that it isn't password protected, but like XTS say's, if the radio was programmed with an Advanced System Key that was programmed for things like Write Protect Enabled then you won't be able to do anything with it without an ASK to include programming conventional fields or changing user parameters. It is a very powerful feature Motorola now has and there is no way to tell if a radio has been touched by one until you attempt to read it or program with CPS.
 

jtech48

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
251
Location
OVB
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.4; en-us; ADR6400L 4G Build/GRJ22) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

It works just enough to receive only and gmrs so its not bad at all. Thank you all for the replies, your all very helpful
 

jtech48

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
251
Location
OVB
a little off topic but opened up my MOL account and accepted the license agreement and i can now see the software on my account, the only thing is that when I go to purchase it, it asks for purchase order no. and i have no idea where to find or how to get it, do i have to contact MOT for that?
 

askdaniel1

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
43
I have a similar radio, and each channel in each zone is a unique conventional personality, al lthe way to the maximum number of channels and zones. It is pretty much impossible to do things like move a channel, or delete it.

I haven't ever had any problems editing the frequency, tone, or modes, but it seems that each zone is locked to 16 channels, and each possible zone is created and full of 16 channels.


Maybe the person trying to edit the code is just trying to do things like move or delete channels?
 

rc50won

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
0
Location
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Because it's an FPP radio, you cannot arbitrarily move or change Zones. Also do not remove the FPP flag from a Zone unless its the last Zone. Doing so will erase all Zones after it.

Marshall
 

jtech48

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
251
Location
OVB
I have a similar radio, and each channel in each zone is a unique conventional personality, al lthe way to the maximum number of channels and zones. It is pretty much impossible to do things like move a channel, or delete it.

I haven't ever had any problems editing the frequency, tone, or modes, but it seems that each zone is locked to 16 channels, and each possible zone is created and full of 16 channels.


Maybe the person trying to edit the code is just trying to do things like move or delete channels?
I Just Wanted there to be no zones and just all channels open but its ok how it is now. I have my 5000 the way i wanted it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top