• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS2500 on a TRS - Replacing XTS3000

Status
Not open for further replies.

jokeefe1130

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
8
Location
Tabernacle, NJ
Hi all,

Okay I am not familiar with the system controller end of a TRS so some of these questions may seem dumb and I apologize. Ok here goes.. I have an XTS2500 that I want to program to replace my XTS3000 on a TRS. The XTS3000 is my issued radio (this is not a law enforcement system, so no worries there), I want to replace this radio with the XTS2500 I purchased privately. Here are my questions, what information shows up on the system controller "side" when my radio affiliates with the TRS? Just the assigned ID or will it also show model and SN? I have the ability to program the radio, I.E. I have the correct system key and the radio ID would be the same one I used in the XTS3000.

I want to make sure my radio does not get killed accidently, is there anyway to block that capability so the system controller can not "kill" the radio?

Again I am an authorized user on the TRS. This is for a commercial system. I do not want to pay the $450 (its a complete rip off!!) to have the radio programmed by the local shop since I have the capabilities to do it myself.

Thanks for any info
 

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,671
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
I want to make sure my radio does not get killed accidently, is there anyway to block that capability so the system controller can not "kill" the radio?

Again I am an authorized user on the TRS. This is for a commercial system. I do not want to pay the $450 (its a complete rip off!!) to have the radio programmed by the local shop since I have the capabilities to do it myself.

Thanks for any info
If you really are concerned about your radio not getting inhibited, then go through the proper channels of getting it programmed on the system.

Being an "authorized user" doesn't equate to an "authorized programmer".

If you have to ask, then you have no business putting radios on someone else's network.
 

jokeefe1130

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
8
Location
Tabernacle, NJ
Thanks for the response. I understand what ur saying, you however, didn't answer my question other than becoming "nasty" because of a simple question. Can someone answer my questions with the negativity. Thank you.
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,498
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
If you are an authorized user on the system, then the controller will recognize your ID number, & won't inhibit your radio. And should it happen by accident, and you are authorized to be there, they will be glad to uninhibit your radio.
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
6,403
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
Thanks for the response. I understand what ur saying, you however, didn't answer my question other than becoming "nasty" because of a simple question. Can someone answer my questions with the negativity. Thank you.
I'm not defending anyone's response to you, but you have to understand that many members here maintain/administer trunked systems (myself included). An improperly programmed radio can have adverse affects on the system, not just your TG.

To answer your question, only the id is transmitted on a XTS2500
 

cabletech

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
871
Location
Puget Sound
And with all that being said, if you are an authorized--authorized user, then take it to the system radio tech and have them set it up.

As for a local dealer charging $450.00 to program a radio, that is very unheard of and normally WAY outof line.
 

jokeefe1130

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
8
Location
Tabernacle, NJ
Like I said before this is a commercial system for a private company. The radio shop I am referring to is the "local" shop. We are looking for a new radio shop, we had a falling out with "local" shop and hence the reason for the jacked up price. They got **** canned and now don't want to service the system or units.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; DROID RAZR Build/9.8.2O-72_VZW-16) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Is it an old Moto 3600 system? If so, the only thing the controller sees is the radio ID. Just make sure you match up all the other settings...its not as mysterious a process with doom and gloom adverse consequences as all the supposed sysadmins here say...
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top