• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS3000 Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeyvb

Member
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
24
Location
Schuylkill Co, PA
Hey guys i am aspiring Amateur radio operator and EMT/Firefighter for work. im looking into a XTS 3000 radio looking to ask if the ADP algorithm can be put in a 3000 UCM? thanks
73s
Joe
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
12,037
Location
Central Ontario
Thread moved to Motorola forum.

The answer is no. You'll need an ASTRO25 radio or newer to do ADP.
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,456
Location
Midlothian, VA
While the 3000 is capable of P25 it was a part of Motorola's ASTRO lineup. The subsequent series was the ASTRO25 line and includes the XTS1500, 2500, 4000, 5000 and perhaps some others I'm missing. Marketing thing I suppose but the newer radios had more features.

I should also add the newer radios also used a completely different CPS package.
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,214
Astro25 is Motorola's trade name for its P25 capable radios. ADP is a proprietary encryption protocol that Motorola developed that provides for inexpensive encryption, but it is not part of the official P25 standard. Both are unique and should not be confused.

The ADP in the XTS1500, 2500 and 5000 is available as either a flash and programmed in the CPS or can be a component of the UCM and loaded in a key loader.

To my knowledge it was not available in the XTS3000 due to a lack of manufacturer offering as the radio was already end of life when ADP hit the market.
 

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,651
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
To my knowledge it was not available in the XTS3000 due to a lack of manufacturer offering as the radio was already end of life when ADP hit the market.
Correct, not to mention the XTS3000/Astro Saber has very limited memory for fimware (1MB) and it's amazing that it supports 9600 baud P25 trunking as it is.

If the O/P wants to put a radio on most Astro 25 systems, most systems admins have a list of supported models they can provide you with. Most of those who administrate Astro 25 systems do not provision legacy radios like XTS3000s and Astro Sabers.

always check with your agencies' system manager or help desk for what radios are supported BEFORE purchasing one.They know best what is/is not permitted on their network.
 

joeyvb

Member
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
24
Location
Schuylkill Co, PA
thanks MTS2000des,
the system in question is a brand new ad still being built... system frequencies were just released and they are only ranges. im going to need every algorithm until i can get a key if at all even possible... if not ill just use it as my amateur radio. got away from the XTS3000 and am looking at either a XTS2500 or XTS5000.
Joe
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,214
im going to need every algorithm until i can get a key if at all even possible... Joe
Trying to find one with all of the algorithms is difficult. You might want to wait until the radios are deployed then put it into test mode to find out what type it is programmed with.

Of course the key is another hurdle and you will have to speak to whoever is the system manager is, but somehow I'm sure that will be a difficult item to get.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top