• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

XTS5000 PTT Sidetone

Status
Not open for further replies.

ems170

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
240
Location
Connecticut
Does anyone know how to if even possible enable a PTT tx tone for a Motorola XTS5000 used in conventional APCO-25 Mode. What I am looking for is something along the lines of the tx tone for the MDC-1200 but again when the radio is in digital mode. Thanks
 

mikegilbert

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
297
Location
Los Angeles
If the radio is secure-equipped, just enable the "secure TX tone" Don't have CPS open at the moment, but it's something along the lines of that.

It will give you a "beep" every time you key up the radio.

-Mike
 

ems170

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
240
Location
Connecticut
Thank you for your help I have looked at the software at the communications office I didnt see a clear option. I will ask the tech about the secure tx tone though.
 

ems170

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
240
Location
Connecticut
Mikegilbert, if the encription sidetone is enabled wouldnt the encryption module have to be activated hence the comms will be encrypted.
 

mikegilbert

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
297
Location
Los Angeles
Activating the encryption module doesn't encrypt the traffic.

Tha "clear TX alert tone" tells you you're transmitting in the clear. All of my astros have encryption modules in em. If you enable the module, you'll get a fail code upon power up.

-Mike
 

ems170

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
240
Location
Connecticut
Thank you again for your reply. I asked the tech he said they did not get the encryption option. Oh well guess we will see how many open carriers we get when we do the digital switch in a couple of weeks.
 

RK3AAG

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2011
Messages
391
Location
Russia
Guys,

I need PTT sidetone in ASTRO conventional mode with security enabled (strapped). Did not see ways to get it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top