• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

XTS5000 VHF QC-II question

Status
Not open for further replies.

AK4FD

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
524
Location
Catawba County, NC
Hello everybody,
I'm hoping someone can answer my question. I have a VHF XTS5000 Model 2, and I have confirmed it received Motorola QC-II decode cuz I've gotten it to alert on my local stations tones. But my question is: is there any way to decode multiple QC-II tones on 1 channel/personality? What I mean is on 1 VHF frequency if I want to alert on 2 or 3 fire station tones on my channel is it possible? Or am I stuck with only decoding 1 set of tones per channel/personality? I've searched high and below but surprisingly can't find anything proving or disproving it. Thanks!
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
In order to employ QC II on a channel, you need a QC "system" and a QC "personality" pointing to that "system."

Any given QC "system" can be programmed for either

One two-tone (individual) code pair plus one one-tone ('long tone") (group) tone; or

Two two-tone code pairs.

What you want to do could be done if the signalling were MDC-based, where a scheme employing "wild cards" can be manipulated for more combinations.
 

AK4FD

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
524
Location
Catawba County, NC
In order to employ QC II on a channel, you need a QC "system" and a QC "personality" pointing to that "system."

Any given QC "system" can be programmed for either

One two-tone (individual) code pair plus one one-tone ('long tone") (group) tone; or

Two two-tone code pairs.

What you want to do could be done if the signalling were MDC-based, where a scheme employing "wild cards" can be manipulated for more combinations.
So I can actually program 2 sets of 2-tone individual codes in a single QCII personality? Where it lists A-tone, B-tone, C-tone, D-tone. I make A & B my first station's individual tone and I can make C & D a second station's individual tones? Would that work?
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
So I can actually program 2 sets of 2-tone individual codes in a single QCII personality? Where it lists A-tone, B-tone, C-tone, D-tone. I make A & B my first station's individual tone and I can make C & D a second station's individual tones? Would that work?
Yes. You want to select A-B, C-D as the format.
 

AK4FD

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
524
Location
Catawba County, NC
Yes. You want to select A-B, C-D as the format.
Cool thanks a bunch, I figured trying that out last night, just waiting for an alert, LOL. Now is there any way to:

A) Program more than 2 sets of tones for 1 channel?
B) Is there a way to scan QC-II channels? In other words say 1 channel is for my county station & another channel is for my neighboring county station, could I scan both of those while standby mode so I can alert for both county channels? I've tried but every time I scan it opens up the channels and no longer muted.
C) If there isn't a way to scan the channels muted, if I leave it on scan with the channels unmuted will the radio still alert tone if either Station gets toned out?

Thanks again for your help!
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Cool thanks a bunch, I figured trying that out last night, just waiting for an alert, LOL. Now is there any way to:

A) Program more than 2 sets of tones for 1 channel?
B) Is there a way to scan QC-II channels? In other words say 1 channel is for my county station & another channel is for my neighboring county station, could I scan both of those while standby mode so I can alert for both county channels? I've tried but every time I scan it opens up the channels and no longer muted.
C) If there isn't a way to scan the channels muted, if I leave it on scan with the channels unmuted will the radio still alert tone if either Station gets toned out?

Thanks again for your help!
A) No.

B) In theory, you can include a "muted" (i.e., unmuting criterion set to "AND") in a scan list, and, in theory, the radio will stop on the channel if it detects valid freq and tone and then unmute if it further detects valid two-tone. In practice, however, a QC-controlled channel will seldom work correctly if it is scanned. The reason has to do with the timing of the two tones; if the channel is in a scan list being scanned, the radio will "enter" the channel almost inevitably after the first tone has started being sent and the radio will not hear the required length of tone.

C) Same answer: "muted" or not, a channel landed on during a scan will almost always cause tone detection to fail.

Why I have put "muted" in quotes: All channels are muted until "receiver qualifications" are met.

If the channel is programmed for CSQ, then receiver qualification is simply valid freq.

If the channel is programmed for PL, DPL or NAC, then receiver qualification is valid freq plus valid tone.

If the channel is programmed for PL, DPL or NAC and also programmed for a "signalling system" (e.e., MDC, QC II, DTMF), then:

If the signalling parameter is programmed for "OR", the radio will unmute on valid freq and valid PL or valid freq and valid signal, and

If the signalling parameter is programmed for 'AND," the radio will unmute on vlid freq, valid PL, and valid valid signal.

As a generalization, signalling can be employed either to make the radio like a pager (sometimes a/k/a "Stat Alert") or as voke alarm (sometimes a/k/a "SelCall"). Usually you program "OR" for Stat Alert and "AND" for SelCall.

For instance, one of my clients is a fire department, a number of whose officers have "call back" obligations in the event of a multiple alarm. Each of these officers is issued a "take home" radio programmed for the dispatch channel plus QC signalling programmed "AND." This means that the radio, which is always turned on, remains silent during routine dispatch traffic (which would otherwise drive everyone else in the house batty), but opens audio if Fire Alarm presses a console button to send the QC group tone, after which Fire Alarm makes an announcement of the alarm and incident status. This avoids having to have the Fire Alarm operators making multiple phone calls to the call back staff, when they have their hands full filling the alarms and doing other things.

Now, there is a way to do what you want to do, but you'd have to get your department to alter its programming scheme. You would set a two-tone pair for each of the stations, where each pair would you the same B tone. You'd then program the console changing the duration of the B tone to 8 seconds (versus the standard 1 second B tone). The company radios would be programmed for A-B, which means that each would open only on its own pair. Your radio would be programmed for Long B, which means that it would open on the long B tone sent as a part of any of the pairs. Neat, but unlikely that you could get anyone to make these changes.
 

AK4FD

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
524
Location
Catawba County, NC
Wow you perfectly answered all my questions I had, including ones I didn't know to ask! LOL I appreciate it greatly! I'm used to programming Trunked 800-MHz systems so this whole VHF QC-II stuff is new to me. I know how to do a Minitor pager that has all these options but wasn't sure if the radio had them. Thanks again, my friend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top