Antenna in a Tree

Status
Not open for further replies.

DylanMadigan

I have a 4ft long GMRS antenna, it is within a pvc pipe. Right now I have both the tx and rx antennas on the barn, but i cant get them too high (theres no good place for guy wires, and i dont have much money or need a large coverage area). The issue is that while the tx antenna gives pretty good range, would like to increase the receive range for handheld radios.

So I am fairly new to all of this, and I've seen it done, but I've never done this myself. I think i can mount the mast to the tree using a few stainless steel bands (stainless mostly so i can adjust them over time so i don't just choke the tree), but this would make the antenna the highest point on the property by about 10ft, so now my concern becomes lightning. I'm thinking its a good idea to ground the steel mast (with an appropriate 8ft grounding pole in the ground), but is there something more i can do for the antenna it's self that wont hinder the signal more then having it 15ft lower? Its encased with PVC with a grounded steel mast under it, but im not sure that PVC will hold back the EMP given off by a bolt of lightning hitting it.

The two biggest reasons for the move to a tree is to increase the height, and get it further away from the tx antenna (this has caused some issues with our handhelds transmitting to it from town).

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
PVC pipe isn't going to stop the energy created by either a direct or a nearby strike. Remember that lightning travels thousands of feet through the air. A 1/4 inch of PVC isn't going to even slow it down.
As for induced energy, the PVC is transparent to a pulse like that, so again, not going to help.

You need to have a proper ground system. That may consist of one or more ground rods. The number needed depends on how well the ground in your area dissipates energy. Wet soil may only need one, dryer or rocky soil may require a network of interconnected ground rods.