Antenna setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

genner

Hello everyone, I am a noob and need a bit of assistance in how to properly ground my TV antenna. Hopefully this is the right forum.

I purchased an Antop plastic type saucer antenna.

https://www.amazon.com/ANTOP-AT-414B-Smartpass-Amplified-Omnidirectional/dp/B01CTY6VW0

It comes with a plastic mount that can be either mounted to a pole or screwed into the side of the house. The located I discovered that gets the best reception is on the side of my chimney above my roof line. Therefore I won't be needing a mast of some sort, I will just screw it to the side of the wood siding on the stack.

The coax is currently running about 7 feet or so down the chimney, then about 12ft. horizontally, and then another 7feet or so down. Unfortunately the site that is ideal for it to enter the house is not anywhere close to the main house circuit box ground.

The plan:

Buy an 8ft. 1/2" grounding rod and place it close to where the coax will enter the house.
The coax that is near the new grounding rod will be spliced with compression f connectors and then connected to a coax grounding block. 10guage wire will then be connected to the grounding block to the rod. Do i also need a coax arrester like the following:

https://www.amazon.com/Coaxial-Lightning-Arrester-GHz-N-Female/dp/B01E2URC8G

or

https://www.amazon.com/TII-Broadban...coding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=JHDF79RVQMPTMY0FFVC3

Any help would be appreciated please!

prcguy

This and similar explanations of NEC Article 810 should answer all your questions: http://www.mikeholt.com/download.php?file=PDF/Radio_and_Television_2014NEC.pdf

One thing to consider is any additional ground rods you add must be bonded to the main electrical panel ground with no less than #6 copper wire.
prcguy

Hello everyone, I am a noob and need a bit of assistance in how to properly ground my TV antenna. Hopefully this is the right forum.

I purchased an Antop plastic type saucer antenna.