RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2017, 6:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 56
Default

PM Sent.

Just for others on here: I do not use the stand. It's happened twice to me. Once when fully charged and once when down to 1 bar. It does not happen every night. Both times I was able to turn it on and it worked just fine.
__________________
-TOM

It's all fun and games... Especially when I poke your eye out!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2017, 12:08 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

I noticed when my G5 does this, when I turn power on, the G5 "reboots" like it does when you have updated it with the programming software (the ...... screen shows up).

It looks like the G5 runs an OS and the OS is embedded linux. It might be that the linux OS crashes and needs to reboot. Why all the LEDs turn on, I don't know...

This is how I determined that the G5 is running linux: On a linux machine (haven't tried it on a Windows machine), the G5 shows up as an Ethernet interface when connected via the USB cable. My particular G5 has an IP address of 10.10.0.6. It also appears that you can SSH into the G5 if you know the username and password (which I do not).

To verify that the G5 is running linux, you can use the nmap utility's OS detection feature on your linux PC:

>sudo nmap -O 10.10.0.6

this is the result:

Starting Nmap 7.01 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2017-01-19 11:48 EST
Nmap scan report for 10.10.0.6
Host is up (0.000010s latency).
Not shown: 998 closed ports
PORT STATE SERVICE
22/tcp open ssh
8200/tcp open trivnet1
Device type: general purpose
Running: Linux 3.X
OS CPE: cpe:/o:linux:linux_kernel:3
OS details: Linux 3.12 - 3.19, Linux 3.8 - 3.19
Network Distance: 0 hops

So it looks like the G5 is using a Linux 3.X kernel and the SSH port 22 is open...

On my machine doing an
>ifconfig

the G5 shows up as:

enp0s20u7 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr be:6e:3b:3e:6f:6b
inet addr:10.10.0.6 Bcast:10.10.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
inet6 addr: fe80::28a3:e00a:3adf:d029/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:127 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:594 (594.0 B) TX bytes:25988 (25.9 KB)

You can ping the G5 too:

ping 10.10.0.6
PING 10.10.0.6 (10.10.0.6) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 10.10.0.6: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.027 ms
64 bytes from 10.10.0.6: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms
64 bytes from 10.10.0.6: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.024 ms
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2017, 6:52 PM
sparklehorse's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philcovington View Post
<snip> It looks like the G5 runs an OS and the OS is embedded linux. <snip>
I wonder if it's secretly running OP25 under the hood of its little Linux box.

.
__________________
Unication G5, TRX-2, BCD536HP, BCD436HP, BCD325P2, AR8200Mk3, DX-R8T, FT-8800R, WS1065, BCD996XT, BCD396XT, BCT15X, Satellit 800, VX-6R, TG-UV2, UV-B5, BC796D, BC250D, BC780XLT, Pro-2006, Pro-90
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2017, 10:13 AM
DaveIN's Avatar
Founders Curmudgen
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 6,632
Default

I like it. It means we have a sensitive receiver that works well on P25 and CQPSK with Linux OS resources for future expansion. I see reference to DMR in the programming software, so hopefully that will be next after P25 Phase II.
__________________
Pop' Comm Monitoring Station ID: KPC9DV
CRB Research Monitor Station Registry: KIN9GP
GMRS: WQKL769
MARC ID:3126326
The BEST scanner or receiver is the one you using right now.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2017, 9:09 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 8
Default

I just bought a G5 a few days ago and after charging full using usb and no cable connected with power off within a few hours around 5 or 7 or so I get this as well. I emailed tech. support today regarding this. The radio works fine otherwise.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2017, 9:54 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,562
Default

Add me to the list of people with this issue. The radio reboots when fired up and works normally.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2017, 4:07 AM
Newbie
   
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Some reason I can not send a PM. Please contact me and I will supply my serial number.
Brand new to me and does it about every 4-5 hours it is turned off.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2017, 3:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 8
Default

I was emailed by Tech. Support stating it was a known issue caused by last firmware update and they are working on it and should hopefully be resolved by end of March firmware update!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2017, 9:59 PM
W8VI's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Batavia, Ohio
Posts: 90
Default

Has anyone had this issue with the G4?
__________________
Unication G4, BCD536HP, BCD436HP, HP-2E, Airspy
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2017, 10:52 AM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

As many of you know the G4/G5 has 3 power modes on, soft power down, and hard power down. When this issue occurs a unit in soft power down mode to go into hard power down mode and then indicates that change with the lights. We implemented the hard power down in the last release it is merely the indicator lights that is the issue. We are trying to extend battery life in all states it is better to leave your device off and then discover that it is fully powered down than to leave it off to return and find that your device's battery is completely dead.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2017, 2:44 PM
wizard of odd
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 521
Default

Interesting about the power state modes.

I just had mine alert for a page. It was in the amp charger, volume/power knob was clicked off. Take it out, and it appears off. I turn it on, it appears to 'boot'. And I know I'm not nuts because the message was stored and I can play it back.

Any ideas? I'm seriously about to send this thing back.

Edit- further info for troubleshooting: It was in VHF/tone mode. Amp charger did not trip relay output / LED.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2017, 12:52 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Mine is brand new and doing it after being turned off for a few hours. Every time. Not sure why.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2017, 1:06 AM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unication_David View Post
As many of you know the G4/G5 has 3 power modes on, soft power down, and hard power down. When this issue occurs a unit in soft power down mode to go into hard power down mode and then indicates that change with the lights. We implemented the hard power down in the last release it is merely the indicator lights that is the issue. We are trying to extend battery life in all states it is better to leave your device off and then discover that it is fully powered down than to leave it off to return and find that your device's battery is completely dead.
See my answer above... this issue is resolved in some alpha releases that i'm working on. This is a bug in R11P release and occurs when the unit switches power modes. Its simply a visual indication.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2017, 6:20 AM
krokus's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 2,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unication_David View Post
See my answer above... this issue is resolved in some alpha releases that i'm working on. This is a bug in R11P release and occurs when the unit switches power modes. Its simply a visual indication.
I hope this resolves the issues I had with some G4s. (Which have been sent back, on RMA.)

Sent via Tapatalk
__________________
Generic radio geek, in southeast Michigan.
PSR-500, TM-742, TM-V71,TH-78, HTX-420, IC-2AT, IC-2E (clone), Pro-39, BC-235XLT, TK-290, XTS-5000
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2017, 6:25 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpha2disp View Post
Mine is brand new and doing it after being turned off for a few hours. Every time. Not sure why.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Exactly like mine.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2017, 12:35 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unication_David View Post
See my answer above... this issue is resolved in some alpha releases that i'm working on. This is a bug in R11P release and occurs when the unit switches power modes. Its simply a visual indication.


Thanks David.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2017, 11:03 AM
Newbie
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Thornton, IL
Posts: 3
Default

I am having the same issue with one of my pagers also.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2017, 8:09 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Add me to the list also. R11P firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2017, 3:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unication_David View Post
See my answer above... this issue is resolved in some alpha releases that i'm working on. This is a bug in R11P release and occurs when the unit switches power modes. Its simply a visual indication.
Having all LEDs stuck on is not exactly a low power mode! LOL!

Is there any progress on getting this fixed?
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 2:54 PM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philcovington View Post
Having all LEDs stuck on is not exactly a low power mode! LOL!

Is there any progress on getting this fixed?
Lighting 3 LED's uses much less power than having the OS running.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions