RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 2:55 PM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

This is fixed in the next release which should be available soon.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 3:00 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unication_David View Post
Lighting 3 LED's uses much less power than having the OS running.
Yeah, but how is that justification for the bug in the first place? You said it was a bug, so I assume it was unintentional to leave the three LEDs on when the unit goes into a lower power mode.

You can see the humor in turning on all LEDs when the unit is supposed to drop into a low power mode, can't you?

Last edited by philcovington; 08-30-2017 at 3:18 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 3:17 PM
eorange's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,026
Default

This has never happened on my G4, FYI.
__________________
√-1 2 π
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 3:20 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 743
Default

Mine either. I have had it 18 months on my second battery and all is good. Still missing that HOLD & DELAY feature !!

After reading back a little, I realized I reverted back to R11N2 a while ago, so I am not using R11P. Hence no problem with LEDs.

Last edited by cpetraglia; 08-30-2017 at 3:26 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 3:59 PM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philcovington View Post
Yeah, but how is that justification for the bug in the first place? You said it was a bug, so I assume it was unintentional to leave the three LEDs on when the unit goes into a lower power mode.

You can see the humor in turning on all LEDs when the unit is supposed to drop into a low power mode, can't you?
This is a bug that only occurs when the unit goes through its full shutdown process approximately 2-3 hours after the knob is placed in the off position. I agree it is funny but after having to explain to anyone who reports this issue and i can tell you its a lot of people its gotten to be a bit old for me at least. I'm just ready for the fix to be implemented so i don't have to hear about it anymore. LOL
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 4:02 PM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpetraglia View Post
Mine either. I have had it 18 months on my second battery and all is good. Still missing that HOLD & DELAY feature !!

After reading back a little, I realized I reverted back to R11N2 a while ago, so I am not using R11P. Hence no problem with LEDs.
I'm waiting for it to be implemented correctly. They added it in an Alpha release but it didn't work like you or I wanted it to so back to the drawing board. I am trying to get it implemented as quickly as possible.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2017, 5:33 PM
eorange's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,026
Default

Thanks for all your help and your efforts to have things done right!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
__________________
√-1 2 π
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2017, 10:22 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Noticed this happening on the demo unit I have and was going to ask. But now I see it's a known issue and being worked on. Thank you for the work you guys are doing to make this pager even better
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2017, 6:45 PM
dconti's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: dconti
Posts: 768
Default

Just received my brand new unit last week and I am having the same issue. Am I to assume there still is not a fix for this issue?

Also, is the re-boot issue when turning back on tied to the LED situation?

This is an excellent device on many fronts, but not too encouraging to see it is taking this long for a fix.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2017, 1:10 PM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

The new firmware with the fix has not released yet.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:08 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dconti View Post
This is an excellent device on many fronts, but not too encouraging to see it is taking this long for a fix.
I personally consider the LED situation to be a really small issue. I don't know how many volts these LEDs draw, but I suspect it's minuscule.

As for how long the fix is taking, this is just one of many issues addressed in the firmware I'm sure. It wouldn't be cost efficient to roll out a new firmware and PPS for every single bug fix, so you're essentially waiting on them to get everything done that is slated for this firmware release.

That's the way software works.
__________________
Realistic Pro-22 | Uniden BC60XLT | Uniden BC246T | Uniden BCD436HP | Unication G5
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 9:41 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Noticed something. I have a couple of G5's here and from what I see the firmware is the same. But one suffers with the problem of the LED's being on and a reboot after being powered off over night and the other one does not. If it's a firmware issue why does this happen?
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2017, 10:06 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pike63 View Post
Noticed something. I have a couple of G5's here and from what I see the firmware is the same. But one suffers with the problem of the LED's being on and a reboot after being powered off over night and the other one does not. If it's a firmware issue why does this happen?
Do you happen to have one of them on a charger?
__________________
Realistic Pro-22 | Uniden BC60XLT | Uniden BC246T | Uniden BCD436HP | Unication G5
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2017, 10:42 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Nope, I can just turn both off and leave them over night. One will have the 3 LEDs on in the morning and when you turn it on it has rebooted but then other no LEDs on and it turns right on like you would think it should work. Makes me wonder if there is something different in the hardware
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 9:29 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 163
Default

David, I notice with the new firmware that the pager appears to not enter the low-power state. I left mine off for 7 hours and when I turned it back on, it did not go through a cold start. Is this expected?

Jim
__________________
Realistic Pro-22 | Uniden BC60XLT | Uniden BC246T | Uniden BCD436HP | Unication G5
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 9:53 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 123
Default

Read the release notes that accompanied the firmware package!!!

New Device and Programming Software Release
With the new device software (V0.93.017 I R00) and programming software (R0.3.9 R02) a number of enhancements have been added.
The enhancements are:
1. Added new paging functionality for QCII over P25 Selecitve Call and Monitor Modes
2. Voice Memo can be disabled in programming software.
3. Out of Range audible alert can be disabled (still displayed on display) in programming software.
4. Unread Message Alert has been added for Voice Messages that have been stored and not read.
5. Ability to convert G4 files to a G5 file.
6. Call Alert is enabled

The bug fixes are:
1. With R11P SW- Non-alerting TGIDs will no longer vibrate when the Selector Knob setting is set to Vibrate Mode.
2. With R11P SW-When pager is in deep discharge it will not charge unless the battery is removed and re-inserted. This hads been fixed.
3. With R11P SW-When pager is off and transitions to ultra low power mode the 3 LEDS go on and eventually go off when the pager is fully charged. This has been fixed.
__________________
de K3SLS Steve
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:06 AM
Unication_David's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Raceland, KY
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimco View Post
David, I notice with the new firmware that the pager appears to not enter the low-power state. I left mine off for 7 hours and when I turned it back on, it did not go through a cold start. Is this expected?

Jim
This can happen. Shouldn't be an issue if it causes a problem let me know and i will have engineering look into it.
__________________
David K. Oney
Technology Division
Unication USA, Inc.
Direct: 817-210-4187
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:42 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3sls View Post
Read the release notes that accompanied the firmware package!!!
The bug fixes are:
3. With R11P SW-When pager is off and transitions to ultra low power mode the 3 LEDS go on and eventually go off when the pager is fully charged. This has been fixed.
I read that, but as you can see, it doesn't describe what the new behavior is. It simply says that the LEDs will not illuminate. My question was whether or not the pager not entering a low-power mode and requiring a cold start is expected.

I'm guessing you didn't read my post.
__________________
Realistic Pro-22 | Uniden BC60XLT | Uniden BC246T | Uniden BCD436HP | Unication G5
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:43 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unication_David View Post
This can happen. Shouldn't be an issue if it causes a problem let me know and i will have engineering look into it.
Thanks. It's not a problem. I just wanted to make sure I understood what the new behavior should be.
__________________
Realistic Pro-22 | Uniden BC60XLT | Uniden BC246T | Uniden BCD436HP | Unication G5
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 11:16 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimco View Post
I read that, but as you can see, it doesn't describe what the new behavior is. It simply says that the LEDs will not illuminate. My question was whether or not the pager not entering a low-power mode and requiring a cold start is expected.

I'm guessing you didn't read my post.
I did read your post, but apparently you haven't read the archived material related to this subject. The behavior of this radio should be (and now is) to power on in the scan state. Cold starts should only occur when you load the radio with a profile/firmware, reset the radio via button combo, or do a battery pull.
__________________
de K3SLS Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions