RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 8:24 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default Program failed (#0x3842)

Ok , I need some help. Didn't turn the G5 on for 2 days. Fired it up tonight-----was not detecting any signals from my local towers. Scanners are all working fine on same system. So i thought maybe I would reload the profile and was greeted with the error code in my title. I had high hopes for this pager/radio- tell me it's not serious, please. thanks for any ideas or help. Mike




And the second time it works, now nothing is loaded in it. Even though the profile acts like its saved, there is nothing to monitor
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE

Last edited by Haley; 05-24-2017 at 8:30 PM.. Reason: added
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 9:03 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

I give up, tried getting any of my profiles to take , no luck. I did a battery pull, no luck. It acts like its programming, and my profiles are good, they just don't make it to the radio/pager for some reason. Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 9:26 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

Sounds defective - still under warranty?
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 9:41 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

I'm starting to think that also. I haven't had it a month yet. Unless somebody has an idea , I guess I should be contacting Unication. Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 9:43 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haley View Post
I'm starting to think that also. I haven't had it a month yet. Unless somebody has an idea , I guess I should be contacting Unication. Mike
I'd probably reach out to the folks I purchased from - particularly if it's that new.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 7:33 AM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

I sent Ray an email , I guess just wait to see what he says. Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 11:33 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 897
Default

Try to shoot the latest version of firmware into it and make sure your using the corresponding version of PPS to match the firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 3:06 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

Thanks for the reply. I contacted Ray, he sent me an email right back. He told me to try the same thing , re flash the firmware. So when I get home from work i will try that, and let you guys know. Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 4:29 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haley View Post
Thanks for the reply. I contacted Ray, he sent me an email right back. He told me to try the same thing , re flash the firmware. So when I get home from work i will try that, and let you guys know. Mike
I thought maybe try that also but even if that works, I'd still be concerned about how/why it happened to start with - and get it addressed while under warranty.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 6:53 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

Well so far no luck. Maybe I am doing something wrong. But I uninstalled the PPS and re installed it no luck. And I thought I re flashed the firmware. Are their any special steps to the firmware install that I may have missed? It says V0.9-0.14-R11P . And like Troymail mentioned, I am more concerned as to WHY it happened. Any other ideas? Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 6:56 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

So, the reflashing of the firmware indicated success and pushing a configuration from the PPS indicated success but it's still not working?

If so - me? In for repair or replacement.

There is only so much you can do as a user.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2017, 7:08 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 897
Default

Other then the programming your sending to the unit is bad its a defective unit.
Send the codeplug to someone else who wants to experiment with that unit.. Or have someone send their codeplug to you and program a different one.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2017, 8:31 AM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

Ok have a little more to add. Reloaded a different profile , alpha tags and programming "acts" like it takes. They transferred from the software to the radio. All my freq. and tower sites are correct-----still no tower signal on the 800mhz. band. Here is where it gets a bit odd, I put the local NOAA site in the radio, trunked system and NOAA are same tower here, I can see it from my window. I am receiving full strength the NOAA signal. So now I am really lost, any settings you guys can think of in the PPS software for trunking that I ,may have missed? Again, all sites, towers , control channels are correct. All I ever did was shut the radio off for about 48 hours, and all the sudden no tower signal, apparently only on my trunked system. Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE

Last edited by Haley; 05-26-2017 at 8:33 AM.. Reason: added more
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2017, 9:23 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 897
Default

Other then remembering the site ID and RFSS are HEX and not DEC. if you put in the incorrect info there, it would not pick up properly.
If you want to send us a link to the system your trying to monitor we can try to help make sure that info is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2017, 9:35 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

Things I've encountered:

- incorrect WACN, SYSID, RFSS, siteId info and/or missing control channel frequency - eventually get "out of range"

- I entered decimal values where HEX values were expected

- duplicate talkgroup names (I know, weird, right?) - the radio seem to just scan and scan but never find a CC or report out of range; I wouldn't be surprised if other strange things like this would cause the same symptoms...

BTW - on one (new, not yet fully operational) system I recently looked at, the available information about the RFSS/siteIds was wrong on RRDB which caused out of range; I believe I later was told that the RFSS/SiteId info had been changed recently
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2017, 6:21 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

Here is a HARD lesson learned. The database on RR for my system , does not reflect the changes made to FCC database 4 days ago (when my scanner went "deaf"). For whatever reason the control channels changed on my home system. I deleted the two I had in PPS, used my 396xt to park on a channel, to get the control freq. , plugged it in, and I have signal and voice now. I want to thank Troymail, and Iamsixnine, for ALL the help (and offers) I am back in business--- I think. This would explain why the sudden deafness only on 800mhz.

Side question do you guys put all known freq. in your systems? I only had the control channels-----but if it makes a difference I will put them all in. Thanks again, Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2017, 7:07 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haley View Post
Here is a HARD lesson learned. The database on RR for my system , does not reflect the changes made to FCC database 4 days ago (when my scanner went "deaf"). For whatever reason the control channels changed on my home system. I deleted the two I had in PPS, used my 396xt to park on a channel, to get the control freq. , plugged it in, and I have signal and voice now. I want to thank Troymail, and Iamsixnine, for ALL the help (and offers) I am back in business--- I think. This would explain why the sudden deafness only on 800mhz.

Side question do you guys put all known freq. in your systems? I only had the control channels-----but if it makes a difference I will put them all in. Thanks again, Mike
Great the hear you're back in business...

The data on RRDB should always considered to be "suspect". Unless you know the CC frequencies are stable and don't change, best bet is to just enter them all. As I mentioned earlier (I think), I recently found the RFSS and site data for a system had change from what was originally listed on RRDB - but that's something most people really don't care about (or would you expect it to change).

Still - I'd be a little concerned about the original error.. From what I recall, you radio was turned off for 2 days and you got that error the next time you turned it on. Strange that there was a CC frequency change right around the same time.... Did you ever get an sense from Unication what that error message meant?
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2017, 8:13 PM
Haley's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 902
Default

I learned my lesson, to double check against the FCC database. The strange thing is I have been listening to this system for 15 years, and I don't recall them ever changing. Even going from EDACS Provoice system to the new P25 system. As for the initial error code , I am pretty certain it was the "perfect storm" , I think I have may have disconnected before the prompt, just a little to quick. It never happened again, actually worked on the second try where I showed a little more patience. I will keep an eye on it for sure. I actually used the G5 in Florida last week on a week long trip----it performed flawlessly down there. VHF, and 700/800. The whole scenario, as strange as it was, in retrospect actually makes sense.

1. Got back from Florida on 5-20-17
2. used G5 on 5-21-17 (worked fine) on local system
3. FCC database update 5-22-17
4. turned my radio on 5-23-17, no signal at all
5. the alpha tag issue was my fault----I have 2 identical profiles, one with and one without, so I am an idiot on that part. They are now designated better.
6. entered "new" control channel, signal is back and TG's are active

So some operator error, and a couple of things that just lined up at the same time.

BUT, I am still keeping an eye on it. Mike
__________________
IC-R2, Pro51, (2) Pro92B, Pro96, Pro106, Pro18, Pro668, BC125AT, BC246t, BC346xt, BCD396xt, BCD436hp, Kenwood THF6A, Tecsun 380, Tecsun 880, RS DX398, RS DX392, Grundig 550PE
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2017, 12:32 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 7,569
Default

This is an example of what you might find here in the RRDB that could affect your Unication programming....in this case "missing information" vs. bad information. Clearly odd:

https://forums.radioreference.com/da...erent-sid.html
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 9:10 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 897
Default

Man that does sound like the perfect storm.
Glad to see its working now and you were able to get the right info into the unit. Wonder why the frequency change.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions