RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum

Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 11:05 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default MDC Decode on Unication G1

Just got 15 new Unication G1 pagers that I will be programming over the next couple of days. From what I am reading, I believe these will also decode MDC? Does anyone know how many aliases you can program into them?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 8:58 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Looking at the G1 PPS under Tab E (MDC Contact Book Setting) you can have up to 50 MDC contact listings. Apologies for the crappy pic but I couldn't get my laptop to do a screen grab so I took the pic with my phone. Hope this is the info you're looking for.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 9:14 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Perfect! Thank you very much. I think I'll finally have time to mess with it tonight or tomorrow. Thank you for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 9:18 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChabalie View Post
Perfect! Thank you very much. I think I'll finally have time to mess with it tonight or tomorrow. Thank you for the help!
Absolutely. I've been doing programming for a long time and there was a bit of a learning curve with the G1 PPS, just simply because of all the bells and whistles. If you run into anything or have any questions I'd be happy to try to help. I've played with all the different options / features / programming options and would be happy to help walk you through other stuff. I'll be on a little bit longer if you have any other questions right off the top of your head. Just post them below. Glad I could help!!
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 9:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Thank you very much. I've been programming Motorola portables, mobiles, and pagers for years, but we decided to get some of these to try out. We have a couple so far and the guys that have them seem to like them. I'm a little hesitant to leave my Minitor VI, but I'm willing to give it a chance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 9:25 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChabalie View Post
Thank you very much. I've been programming Motorola portables, mobiles, and pagers for years, but we decided to get some of these to try out. We have a couple so far and the guys that have them seem to like them. I'm a little hesitant to leave my Minitor VI, but I'm willing to give it a chance!
I've been a die hard fan of the Minitor series pagers. Well, mainly the Minitor II, but I've had a personally owned 5 for the last almost 10 years and it's never failed me. I got the G1 I have now as part of a deal on some used equipment. I like having the display and the number of channels offered. I think my favorite feature of all is the Voice Prompt / Channel Announcement feature. I finally got the voice tags made and uploaded to it today. The sensitivity and audio is great on it as well.

Did you see my thread in this forum where I modified my Minitor 5 nylon holster for use with my G1? Since posting it today I've already had 5 requests to do them for others.
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 9:26 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Here's a quick look at the case:

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2017, 11:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Good work on that!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 12:56 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChabalie View Post
Good work on that!
Thank you sir! If you (or anyone that sees this) want to try it I'll be happy to send you the measurements to cut the hole out for the display.
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 5:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Will do. One more question, how can you change what the voice announcements say? For example, when when I put it on "open channel" it announces "normal scan", but it isn't scanning anything.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 7:08 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChabalie View Post
Will do. One more question, how can you change what the voice announcements say? For example, when when I put it on "open channel" it announces "normal scan", but it isn't scanning anything.
When you have the PPS open on the left hand side of the window you'll see "Muisc Alert/Voice Prompt Programming". Click on that and you'll see two separate sections. One for uploading music/sound tones, and one for loading voice prompts. Load each into their respective sections and then write them to the pager. After you upload them to the pager then go back up to the tab that says "Program Pager with Read Pager Codeplug Data" otherwise the tones/voice prompts won't show up as available. ( I just reread what you posted and realized you were asking about the factory voice prompts lol. It's been a long day)

Once you get those loaded then go to Tab H: Receiving Portfolio Setting and in the bottom window, "Function Switch List" (Channel listing), and double click each knob position/channel and you'll see the option called Voice Prompt Index and that's where you'll see the available/uploaded voice prompts. Or you can use the factory supplied prompts. They are labeled and you can hit the play button next to the field to hear them.

For some reason I can't get the pics to upload in this post so look at the next post down
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501

Last edited by KM4WLV; 05-29-2017 at 7:22 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 7:09 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Apologies again for the crappy pics. Laptop still doesn't want to do a screen grab.





Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501

Last edited by KM4WLV; 05-29-2017 at 7:16 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 8:03 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KM4WLV View Post
Looking at the G1 PPS under Tab E (MDC Contact Book Setting) you can have up to 50 MDC contact listings. Apologies for the crappy pic but I couldn't get my laptop to do a screen grab so I took the pic with my phone. Hope this is the info you're looking for.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Greenshot :-D
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 8:39 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phirephoto View Post
Thanks for the link! Just might resolve the issue
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2017, 10:24 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Ok. I figured out how to change the voice prompt. I uploaded one that I made, but it won't blame over the pager and I can't seem to find it in the drop down on the channel setting.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 12:54 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChabalie View Post
Ok. I figured out how to change the voice prompt. I uploaded one that I made, but it won't blame over the pager and I can't seem to find it in the drop down on the channel setting.
If you'd like I can send you a copy of the codeplug for my G1 to look over, or if you want to send yours to me I'd be happy to take a look at it.

***Follow these steps when adding custom tones & voice prompts:

1) After putting the pager in the cradle you need to click on the Music Alert / Voice Prompt Programming tab.

2) Then in the respective categories add your custom tones and voice prompts, and next click the "Write Pager" button at the bottom.

3) After you get the message that the programming was successful then click the "Program Pager with Read Pager Codeplug Data"

4) After the pager has been read then click on Tab H: Receiving Portfolio Setting (Provided you've set up the channels on whatever knob positions you want)

5) Double click on whatever channel/knob position you'd like to add the voice file to.

6) When that window opens in the top section with the green header bar labeled "Knob Function Setting" at the very bottom you'll see the "Voice Prompt Index" field. As long as the voice file was successfully wrote to the pager this is where it will show up. Remember, this field is only for the voice prompt, not for custom tones when the pager alerts. This is basically like the channel announcement feature in Motorola radios, which I'm sure you know but I wanted to say that just in case,

7) Click the down arrow in that box and as long as the voice prompt was written successfully you'll be able to select it. After selecting it if you click the "Play Pager" button it will play that prompt through the pagers speaker as long as it's still in the programming cradle.

Follow those same steps for other channels as needed. Let me know if this clears things up or helps. And again, if you're still having issues I'd be happy to take a look at your codeplug. Also, make sure your pager is running the most current firmware which is: RVV0114EN .
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 1:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Thank you. That helped so much. Is there a way to adjust the time for the voice announcement? I got them loaded in, but it cuts off the end of a few of the recordings.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 1:50 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Disregard. I found that it didn't work in the preview in the software, but it works on the pager itself.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 3:41 PM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChabalie View Post
Thank you. That helped so much. Is there a way to adjust the time for the voice announcement? I got them loaded in, but it cuts off the end of a few of the recordings.
No problem, glad to help. Is there anything else you need help with or have you been able to set up everything that you wanted?
__________________
Daniel - Previously known as FD5722
DMR-MARC Radio IDs: 1137269 & 1137501
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2017, 8:03 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 86
Default

I think I'm good for now. Of course it has been quiet, so I haven't gotten to see how well it works lol. So far I like them a lot. Thank you so much for all of your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions