RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2017, 12:34 PM
rja1's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NY / HUDSON VALLEY
Posts: 199
Default G5...What am I doing wrong?

Hi All,
I'll be the first to admit that I suck at programming trunked systems. I've kludged my way through programming P25 trunked systems on some Uniden scanners. Got my G5 a while back & programmed the only trunked system in my area, New York State Electric & Gas. They cover about 35 counties and have about the same number of sites. I only programmed in the local sites & those along a corridor that I travel once a week.
Here's the problem: I can receive 2 sites from my home, but as soon as the G5 locks onto the first CC, it stays there, it won't scan the other site unless the first sites signal drops out. Same situation when I'm up north. Up there, I can receive 3 sites, but it locks onto the first site it hears & stays there.
At first, I thought that it just worked like that, as it's really not designed as a scanner. Fast forward to yesterday, I'm at a Ham Radio flea market in Saratoga county.....an there, sitting on a vendors table is what looks like a brand new G5, in the box. Vendor said it was three months old & it still had the screen protector. I asked him what he was asking for it & he said his bottom line was $250. Now I have two G5's! He has several P25 trunked systems programmed and they were scanning sites just like my Unidens. Can somebody help me get this thing working the way it should?

Thanks & 73,
Bob
N2OAM
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2017, 1:10 PM
Steve2003's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 730
Default

The trick is to program in multiple trunked systems with the same SystemID & WACN but different sites/frequencies.

When you setup your knob positions all you need to do is change to the system (i.e. site) you want to monitor. (you can copy/paste between knob positions).
__________________
MNN-077
Unication G4, BCD536HP, BCD436HP, HP-1, BCD996XT, BC780XLT, PSR800, PSR500, PRO197, PRO96, PRO23
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2017, 1:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve2003 View Post
When you setup your knob positions all you need to do is change to the system (i.e. site) you want to monitor. (you can copy/paste between knob positions).
Exactly! This screwed me up at first with the G5 as well. You need to program each zone with only one site. All of the knob locations for that zone should contain ONLY TGIDs that are in that site. If you need to monitor two sites, you need two zones.

This is one of the differences between the G5 and a typical scanner setup. Once you figure it out, you can creatively configure your zones and knob positions to work well with it.
__________________
Realistic Pro-22 | Uniden BC60XLT | Uniden BC246T | Uniden BCD436HP | Unication G5
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2017, 2:11 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 6,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rja1 View Post
Here's the problem: I can receive 2 sites from my home, but as soon as the G5 locks onto the first CC, it stays there, it won't scan the other site unless the first sites signal drops out. Same situation when I'm up north. Up there, I can receive 3 sites, but it locks onto the first site it hears & stays there.
At first, I thought that it just worked like that, as it's really not designed as a scanner.
Actually, that is how it works. It's both good and bad at the same time.

Yesterday, I drove right past a site and then many miles past it but my G4 held the (much more) distant site since the quality had not significantly dropped such that the radio felt it needed to find a better site/signal.

As others have indicated - and just like with scanners - to have more positive control, you have to create multiple copies of the system - like one site per copy - and put each in different zone/knob positions.

For the NC VIPER system in my county, I have a zone (and knobs) set up that allow the radio to pick the site (any of 4 sites in my area).

I then create 4 additional "systems" (zones 2, 3, 4, and 5) and replicate the knob positions exactly the same. This way, if I want (and as I did yesterday), I simply switch zones to the "local" site (vs. allowing the radio to decide for me).

This is really the only way to do it... and I've always done similar things for scanner programming.

Quote:
Fast forward to yesterday, I'm at a Ham Radio flea market in Saratoga county.....an there, sitting on a vendors table is what looks like a brand new G5, in the box. Vendor said it was three months old & it still had the screen protector. I asked him what he was asking for it & he said his bottom line was $250. Now I have two G5's! He has several P25 trunked systems programmed and they were scanning sites just like my Unidens. Can somebody help me get this thing working the way it should?

Thanks & 73,
Bob
N2OAM
Whoa! I would have jumped on that also (assuming it wasn't damaged in some way). Great find!
__________________
Unication G4
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800x2,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 1:36 PM
rja1's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NY / HUDSON VALLEY
Posts: 199
Default

Whoa! I would have jumped on that also (assuming it wasn't damaged in some way). Great find![/QUOTE]

It was in the box, in "As New" condition, but without the charger. Also found an AOR LA-350 Loop Antenna. Covers 3-30 Mhz with the 2 included plug in loop antennas. Traded an old Motorola speaker (late 40's, early 50's vintage) for it. Total outlay for speaker...$10.................Now, back to the original subject......

As stated previously, I only have a rudimentary understanding of P25 trunking. Here's the system I'm trying to load https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6033#tgs
Since I can only receive a few CC's at just about any location in their coverage area, maybe it makes sense to load the entire system, as it shouldn't (?) take long to scan through 38 sites, most of which are out of range. That way, no matter where I was in their coverage area, I'd be able to hear comms. I would like to be able to do all that in ONE knob position, if possible.

Bob
N2OAM
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 2:13 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 6,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rja1 View Post
Whoa! I would have jumped on that also (assuming it wasn't damaged in some way). Great find!
It was in the box, in "As New" condition, but without the charger. Also found an AOR LA-350 Loop Antenna. Covers 3-30 Mhz with the 2 included plug in loop antennas. Traded an old Motorola speaker (late 40's, early 50's vintage) for it. Total outlay for speaker...$10.................Now, back to the original subject......

As stated previously, I only have a rudimentary understanding of P25 trunking. Here's the system I'm trying to load https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6033#tgs
Since I can only receive a few CC's at just about any location in their coverage area, maybe it makes sense to load the entire system, as it shouldn't (?) take long to scan through 38 sites, most of which are out of range. That way, no matter where I was in their coverage area, I'd be able to hear comms. I would like to be able to do all that in ONE knob position, if possible.

Bob
N2OAM[/QUOTE]

You can add as many sites as you want -- just alot of typing.

Just keep in mind that the Unication pagers will find and hold on a single site that meets and maintains the signal quality required... After that, it won't "scan" the other sites unless it loses that original signal/control channel.

After that, knob position is limited only to 64 talkgroups... only then you need to create another knob...

... unless, as we've discussed, you create a different knob for spearate sites...

Lots of options -- just remember - it's not a "scanner". It will do some limited scanning....
__________________
Unication G4
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800x2,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 2:29 PM
rja1's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NY / HUDSON VALLEY
Posts: 199
Default

Just keep in mind that the Unication pagers will find and hold on a single site that meets and maintains the signal quality required... After that, it won't "scan" the other sites unless it loses that original signal/control channel.

There's no way around this?? That means I'm missing al least 50% of comms, more if I'm in an area with 3 CC's that I can receive.

Bob
N2OAM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2017, 3:54 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 6,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rja1 View Post
Just keep in mind that the Unication pagers will find and hold on a single site that meets and maintains the signal quality required... After that, it won't "scan" the other sites unless it loses that original signal/control channel.

There's no way around this?? That means I'm missing al least 50% of comms, more if I'm in an area with 3 CC's that I can receive.

Bob
N2OAM
They only process one control channel. There is no way to force them the "scan" (process) multiple sites at the same time.
__________________
Unication G4
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR800x2,500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions