RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2018, 2:49 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default Reception Paging

Hello all,
I got my codes for two tone programming from the county. The pager seems to go off when it feels like it it has to be in a certain spot or area to go off. Yes the anplified charger will help at home but what about when I'm out? What can I do to fix this? Dave any recommendations?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2018, 11:12 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,283
Default

is the paging done on a P25 system? what band?
Is it done on a conventional analog channel that uses the pagers secondary antenna, if your referring to a G5 and not a G4.
This sounds less like a two tone issue and more like a general reception issue.
How strong is the signal your tones are being sent on?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2018, 11:51 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Question

500mhz band conventional and it is in fact a g5. The signal usually has anywhere from 1-3 bars on it. I can have my radio sitting right next to it with dispatch channel going off and the pager doesn't do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2018, 7:19 PM
mdsxfire's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eng21inefd View Post
500mhz band conventional and it is in fact a g5. The signal usually has anywhere from 1-3 bars on it. I can have my radio sitting right next to it with dispatch channel going off and the pager doesn't do anything.


Is the squelch setting set to high? And isnít there a setting for tone duration long vs short type of tones?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2018, 7:41 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default

There is something for the duration which is set to standard motorola paging system and the squelch setting is set to low.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2018, 3:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdsxfire View Post
Is the squelch setting set to high? And isnít there a setting for tone duration long vs short type of tones?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes there are several different tone lengths, Motratola quick call 1 and quick call 2 are very common but there are may different lengths. My department uses quick call 1 indiviual call tone & voice. my pager is set for QC1 and CSQ squelch and it works just fine. I would try to find out from a system admin what tone system you use. or maybe try to record the tones and time them then refrence the chart found in the link below to see what tone system they use.

https://www.midians.com/pdf/tone-signaling-charts.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2018, 8:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default

We use a 2 tone system my pager is set up two tone csq I talked to one of the guys from 911 center they said it is a standard Motorola paging system
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2018, 8:44 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 399
Default

Eng21inefd- First, is the pager showing 1-3 bars consecutive or when they are "toning out"? Second, do you have a pl or dpl set for your dispatch frequency? Also are you scanning multiple dispatch channels as silent scan?
__________________
BNN#13
Erma FD
Cape May City FD
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2018, 9:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default

No lockout codes at all. And the only things that I'm scanning is ems fire Dept and fire police and it's all on the same channel knob it even does it with just my fd knob
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2018, 8:40 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 399
Default

Eng21inefd- If you can send me your codeplug I can take a look.
__________________
BNN#13
Erma FD
Cape May City FD
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2018, 11:13 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default

That is the codeplug, i literally cant figure this out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2018, 10:55 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 399
Default

Eng21inefd- I just emailed you back your codeplug. Let me know how it works.
__________________
BNN#13
Erma FD
Cape May City FD
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2018, 6:21 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same problem.

My fire channel works intermittently.

Tonight I had it set on and the pager crashed and rebooted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions