RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2018, 9:27 AM
LEH's Avatar
LEH LEH is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 1,327
Default G5 freezes up

I've had three or so incidents recently where my G5 will seemingly freeze or lock up. The display will not time out and it will not hear any transmissions.

When I turn the pager off, it takes up to two minutes to finally power down.

When I turn it back on, the G5 is doing what appears to be a reboot (the status bar at the bottom comes up like when you have finished updating a profile).

I have the latest firmware upgrade and I'm using the beta PPS that was released with it. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Lynn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2018, 9:47 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eden NC
Posts: 70
Default

Hello
Does it show a certain talk group mine does it from time to time
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2018, 3:37 AM
Johnnydollar2's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 922
Default G5 Freezes up?

If your battery is the original one, it may be going out. Mine lasted more than 10 months and then strange things started happening like that. Also anytime I turned it off overnight? it would do the hard reboot thing with the little dots at the bottom like it had done a firmware update upon starting the next time. Then the battery wasn't holding charges more than a few hours. So bought a new one. A few days later after tossing that battery in a drawer? I opened it up to see the battery had SWELLED up and burst through it's black casing to the point the white pack of (whatever) was visible inside. I tossed it in a bag with a few old batteries and old PC batteries to dispose of over at Battery's and Bulbs store. This new battery is a Lithium ION type. Original for my G5 was Lithium POLYMER. A few others have discussed this "swelling" with batteries last week in the Unication forums. So if you have a different battery? or could test it somehow, it could be that it's going out on you. If not, I'd just re-flash the firmware and give that a try.
__________________
-------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2018, 8:48 AM
LEH's Avatar
LEH LEH is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 1,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnydollar2 View Post
If your battery is the original one, it may be going out. Mine lasted more than 10 months and then strange things started happening like that.
That might be the problem, though I've only had the G5 for three or four months. I'll keep an eye on it and order a new one, just in case.

I may also re-flash the firmware though I had no problem when I did the last upgrade.

Thanks.
__________________
Lynn
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2018, 5:48 PM
LEH's Avatar
LEH LEH is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 1,327
Default

I am going to resurrect this thread as, even after having the G5 replaced, I am having pretty much the same problem.

My G5 will periodically freeze up. Since the replacement I have not had to remove the battery to get it to shut down and restart.

I have one of their G5 low UHF (380-430 MHz) model (which is no longer listed in their brochure for sale). Which now makes me wonder if there might be some issue with that particular model.

Most of the time when the radio freezes is while I have it attached to my belt and using the Bluetooth to listen. When it does freeze, the following occurs:
1. The display will not time out and continues to display the information for the last knob position. There is no reception, even if there is activity on the channels in that knob position.
2. When I turn the G5 off, the unit continues to display the last knob position text
3. After 30-60 seconds, the pager goes to the 'charging' (large battery icon) displays (even though it is not being charged) and all three top LEDs display as red.
4. Another 30 or so seconds, the pager finally shuts down and the red LEDs may or may not go off.
5. Turning the G5 back on, the unit does the reboot.

My question is if this is happening to anyone else, especially if they have the low UHF model. I can see where one unit might have a problem, but two with the same problem is suspicious. A second minor question is if anyone knows if Unication has discontinued the model I have.

Thanks
__________________
Lynn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2018, 6:34 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,164
Default

Has it ever happened when not using Bluetooth, to rule that out?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2018, 7:02 PM
LEH's Avatar
LEH LEH is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 1,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ResQguy View Post
Has it ever happened when not using Bluetooth, to rule that out?
Yes, occasionally I'll have it sitting just running. On a couple of occasions, the Bluetooth may have been on but not connected. I need to see if it locks while no headphone is attached. Good thought. Thanks
__________________
Lynn
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2018, 9:07 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,210
Default

FYI, all of the model numbers changed when they went to Phase 2.
Since your unit was pre phase 2 that model number wont be listed as current.
In fact, sending it back for the phase 2 update also changed the internal model number to their new numbering structure to indicate its a Phase 2 unit.
At least thats how i understand it.

My 2 G4 units are more stable now with the Phase 2 firmware in them.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2018, 9:17 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nomad (Thanks Florence!)
Posts: 9,960
Default

I have a recently upgraded Phase 2 UHF model and haven't seen any lock-up issues. The radio is typically on 24/7...

I will say that I've seen issues in the past where, for reasons unknown specifically to me, my G4 (which I later sold/traded out for a G5) did act up (badly) when I had a very large profile installed that contained many systems and sites. I believe this was also in conjunction with use on one or more very busy systems.

However, that was last summer and 3-4 firmware versions ago....

I do occasionally see some sluggish behavior in the display but nothing compared to the way that G4 worked last summer.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2018, 12:30 PM
LEH's Avatar
LEH LEH is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 1,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmSixNine View Post
FYI, all of the model numbers changed when they went to Phase 2.
Since your unit was pre phase 2 that model number wont be listed as current.
In fact, sending it back for the phase 2 update also changed the internal model number to their new numbering structure to indicate its a Phase 2 unit.
At least thats how i understand it.
My replacement unit has been upgraded to Phase 2 and is doing pretty much what my pre Phase 2 unit did.

Model number changes I after the upgrade I understand what my comment is referring to is there is no longer a model of the G5 in the current brochure with a UHF 380-420 MHz option. The only UHF shown now on the US site is 441-470MHz.
__________________
Lynn
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2018, 5:17 PM
radio3353's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 749
Default

Did you happen to be connecting or disconnecting the USB charger cable when the radio was on? That happened to me once. I don't recall if I was connecting or disconnecting the charger when my G4 was on, but it did freeze up. It cleared itself after a little while.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions