RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:44 PM
KR7CQ's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
Default Can't Select PH2 For System Option In PPS

Got a new phase 2 G4

Firmware: V1.00-T08

Newly downloaded PPS supposed to be for phase 2: V0.03.11 Beta09

After entering my information for a phase 2 system, when I hit the pull-down for protocol alias, I only see phase 1 as an option. What might I be missing here?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:26 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 83
Default

The protocol alias is a free text field that you can fill in with whatever you want. The protocol type I use is "P25 Trunking" and there is no option for differentiation of Phase 1 or Phase 2 in the list:



I'm also using PPS V0.3.11 Beta09
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 8:20 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 9,829
Default

Correct - you can just program your information - Phase 1 or Phase 2 - doesn't matter - no special programming required.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 11:09 AM
KR7CQ's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
Default

Thanks, I was just expecting to see Phase 1 and Phase 2 available for pull-down when working on a zone...but only see Phase 1. But that's all good, thanks for the clarification.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1pkiie6onk...Alias.jpg?dl=0
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 11:10 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 9,829
Default

That's just an alias someone (whomever set up programming in your PPS) assigned to Protocol "P25 Trunking" (Tab D-3). That alias can be anything....
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 11:29 AM
KR7CQ's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
Default

Awesome, thanks as always.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 5:02 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,697
Default

That's actually a good thing because on a local system, sometimes a talk group will be on Phase I and other times the same talk group can go phase II for some reason. If you had to program that in the pager, you might miss transmissions when it switches back and forth on the system. The fact that it will (apparently) figure it out automatically suggests you won't miss anything.
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:22 PM
Signal-Zero's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fortified Bunker
Posts: 2,726
Default

Same as a subscriber radio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"We celebrate our independence from the Government, not our dependence on it."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 7:19 PM
KR7CQ's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
Default

Just wanted to do a quick update, reception on our lone phase 2 system (MCSO) is outstanding. Every simulcast (big county, many simulcasts) that I load into the G4 works from everywhere I've been so far. Scanners including the new SDS100 are lucky to latch onto one simulcast in this system if you move your scanner around just right. Of course, once you find the spot where your scanner gets reception, don't forget to mark the spot with tape so that you can listen to that system again in the future. Thank GOD for Unication.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 9:03 PM
radio3353's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homeboys-Scanna View Post
That's actually a good thing because on a local system, sometimes a talk group will be on Phase I and other times the same talk group can go phase II for some reason. If you had to program that in the pager, you might miss transmissions when it switches back and forth on the system. The fact that it will (apparently) figure it out automatically suggests you won't miss anything.
Yes, not uncommon for a system in transition from Phase I to II (thinking of Philadelphia, PA.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2018, 5:37 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Talbot Co, MD
Posts: 1,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radio3353 View Post
Yes, not uncommon for a system in transition from Phase I to II (thinking of Philadelphia, PA.)
Or indeed any time an older phase-1-only radio affiliates with a specific tgid that is normally phase 2.

In my local area our statewide system is typically in phase 2 mode for days on end. Sometimes however, a mutual aid company will come online during a big call and cause a dispatch channel or tac channel to fall back to phase 1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions