RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2018, 6:52 AM
mdsxfire's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 465
Default G5 paging on p25

Was wondering if something different/specific has to be done on the console to actually activate the pager with the tones over the p25 TG, and how to program the knob to do it. My current programming for my FD has knob one programmed with only our FD TGs, if I wanted to program a knob with only the dispatch TG with our 2tone dispatch tones where do they got
We are currently dispatched on VHF, everything else in done on the new system, but the tones are broadcast over the p25 dispatch TG.
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2018, 8:02 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 9,635
Default

Take a look at David's video on paging setup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SXdjkRFKHU

FYI - in my area, they page over conventional VHF (which works fine on the G5) and it is patched to a P25 talkgroup - in my situation, the G5 2-tone alerting does not work over P25.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2018, 3:34 PM
mdsxfire's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post
Take a look at David's video on paging setup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SXdjkRFKHU

FYI - in my area, they page over conventional VHF (which works fine on the G5) and it is patched to a P25 talkgroup - in my situation, the G5 2-tone alerting does not work over P25.


Ok so the same tones that come over vhf will not work patched into the p25 TG


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2018, 3:39 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 9,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdsxfire View Post
Ok so the same tones that come over vhf will not work patched into the p25 TG


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I won't say it won't work in all cases - just wouldn't work in my situation.

If the tones sounds clear (pure) on VHF but don't sound the same over P25, it may not work.

Pure tones over P25 probably work just fine.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2018, 2:45 PM
wizard of odd
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 554
Default

Not all tones will work. Somewhere there is a list of approved p25 tones. I believe it has to do with looser tolerances due to the vocoder no exactly replicating them.

And then reliability probably also depends on how the system is built. A console mult-select will probably work better vs a audio gateway somewhere.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2018, 2:56 PM
wizard of odd
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 554
Default

https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/9bbbf...99784d25e6.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2018, 3:30 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 40
Default

I know in VA Pittsylvania County's Broadcastify feed of their trunk P25 system has a bad habit of cutting off the A tone sometimes for a few departments (primarily Sq 12 Chatham Rescue is the biggest victim). My advice would be to stick to the VHF paging so you aren't missing calls for your department.. Theres a reason why FTO on Unidens is still traditionally programmed
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2018, 6:22 PM
mdsxfire's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djewel6 View Post
I know in VA Pittsylvania County's Broadcastify feed of their trunk P25 system has a bad habit of cutting off the A tone sometimes for a few departments (primarily Sq 12 Chatham Rescue is the biggest victim). My advice would be to stick to the VHF paging so you aren't missing calls for your department.. Theres a reason why FTO on Unidens is still traditionally programmed


I carry my G5 around most of the time now, if I am out somewhere I donít want a lot of noise I leave it on knob 1 which is only my FD TGs and leave it up enough to hear our tones, we lost our secondary tone that sounded like a spaceship when we switched over to the Harris system so now it just puts the tones out twice back to back.
My point with this was I have heard a few times a part of one of the tones be cut off or dropped, my g5 doesnít have the tones programmed in to alert so I donít know if it affect last the ability for the pager to alert consistently.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions