RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Unication Forum


Unication Forum - Forum for discussion of Unication products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2018, 10:32 PM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Exclamation G-4 800mhz shortage

I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2018, 1:27 AM
krokus's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
Out of the 30-ish we have had for my FD, we have had a few USB port/cord issues, and an excessive number of batteries swell.

Other than that, the issues have been addressed by firmware and programming updates.

Sent using Tapatalk
__________________
Generic radio geek, in southeast Michigan.
PSR-500, TM-742, TM-V71,TH-78, HTX-420, IC-2AT, IC-2E (clone), Pro-39, BC-235XLT, TK-290, XTS-5000
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2018, 6:50 AM
NC3Z's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pamlico County, NC
Posts: 67
Default

Just bought a G4 last week, no issues.
__________________
Gary NC3Z
NC AHIMT COML
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2018, 10:31 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,255
Default

The first G4 i got (now over 2 years old) started to have the swelling issue with battery. Unication made replaced it for me. I know a while back it was brought up that they switched from Li-Poly to Li-Ion batteries. So im thinking if its older then a year it has the different battery tech and batteries could go bad.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2018, 10:57 AM
Unication Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
There is no G4 shortage. We have plenty currently in stock.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 12:11 AM
krokus's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
Which dealers have you tried?

Sent using Tapatalk
__________________
Generic radio geek, in southeast Michigan.
PSR-500, TM-742, TM-V71,TH-78, HTX-420, IC-2AT, IC-2E (clone), Pro-39, BC-235XLT, TK-290, XTS-5000
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 7:36 AM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uni1 View Post
There is no G4 shortage. We have plenty currently in stock.
Tell that to Capitial communications in Indianapolis, they provided for all of michigan on the mpscs. None available
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 7:39 AM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krokus View Post
Which dealers have you tried?

Sent using Tapatalk
I have talked to alot of unication dealers , and the only 1 authorized by mpscs is Capital communications out of Indianapolis. Comsource doesn't carry them , or Land mobile services, or Bearcom .
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 8:13 AM
rvacs's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 240
Default

Google up Command Communications out of Spring, TX
- that is where I got my G4 with Phase II - Great Support and fast shipment.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 9:05 AM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvacs View Post
Google up Command Communications out of Spring, TX
- that is where I got my G4 with Phase II - Great Support and fast shipment.
I checked, there not authorized to do mpscs.
Once you get the G-4 there only 1 dealer that can set in up .it's a $ 1.500 setup fee we have 83 counties with 64 talkgroups. As example my county has 8 all call groups, plus the fire departments,
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 10:20 AM
Citywide173's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Attleboro, MA
Posts: 1,475
Default

If you're buying it on your own, why not just program it yourself? I live in Massachusetts, but have Detroit and Wayne County programmed in my G5 for when I'm out there.
__________________
Ed Burke
KD1EMS WQRD823

Administrator: Firepics-THE Place for fire photographers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 10:24 AM
Citywide173's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Attleboro, MA
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
I checked, there not authorized to do mpscs.
Once you get the G-4 there only 1 dealer that can set in up .it's a $ 1.500 setup fee we have 83 counties with 64 talkgroups. As example my county has 8 all call groups, plus the fire departments,
Is that $1.50 per channel/talkgroup or $1,500.00 for the preconfigured statewide codeplug? Sounds like a little bit of price gouging which should be reported to the Attortney General to me.
__________________
Ed Burke
KD1EMS WQRD823

Administrator: Firepics-THE Place for fire photographers
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 10:48 AM
iMONITOR's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MACOMB, MI.
Posts: 5,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
I have talked to alot of unication dealers , and the only 1 authorized by mpscs is Capital communications out of Indianapolis. Comsource doesn't carry them , or Land mobile services, or Bearcom .

Why is the State Of Michigan single sourcing them to begin with? Gee...let me guess?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 11:38 AM
KM4WLV's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
Posts: 1,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
I checked, there not authorized to do mpscs.
Once you get the G-4 there only 1 dealer that can set in up .it's a $ 1.500 setup fee we have 83 counties with 64 talkgroups. As example my county has 8 all call groups, plus the fire departments,
This statement has peaked my curiosity as well. Since it's just a pager I'm also curious as to why it couldn't be purchased elsewhere and programmed by you. I understand there may be a preconfigured codeplug but it shouldn't be hard to build one from scratch, just maybe time consuming. And, which it may just be me, but $1500 to setup/program these devices is nuts, especially if the codeplug is already put together. As far as call alerting do you guys use Quick Call 2 at all or does each unit have a specific ID that is paged when a call is dispatched? If it's the latter I could maybe see the regulation on purchase.......
__________________
Daniel (Formally known as FD5722)
DMR-MARC ID's: 1137269 & 1137501

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 2:16 PM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KM4WLV View Post
This statement has peaked my curiosity as well. Since it's just a pager I'm also curious as to why it couldn't be purchased elsewhere and programmed by you. I understand there may be a preconfigured codeplug but it shouldn't be hard to build one from scratch, just maybe time consuming. And, which it may just be me, but $1500 to setup/program these devices is nuts, especially if the codeplug is already put together. As far as call alerting do you guys use Quick Call 2 at all or does each unit have a specific ID that is paged when a call is dispatched? If it's the latter I could maybe see the regulation on purchase.......
It is set up through mpscs, and there is no qc2 , it is specific id
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 2:18 PM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Citywide173 View Post
Is that $1.50 per channel/talkgroup or $1,500.00 for the preconfigured statewide codeplug? Sounds like a little bit of price gouging which should be reported to the Attortney General to me.
It set up through the mpscs. And attorney General has no say in it.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 2:19 PM
kc8vlv's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: port huron mi
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Citywide173 View Post
If you're buying it on your own, why not just program it yourself? I live in Massachusetts, but have Detroit and Wayne County programmed in my G5 for when I'm out there.
Western Wayne and city of Detroit are not mpscs. There a different system .
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 2:24 PM
iMONITOR's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MACOMB, MI.
Posts: 5,440
Default

No one should have a say in it. It's just a receiver, not a transmitter.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 3:06 PM
dseven's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay / Delta, CA
Posts: 290
Default

It probably depends on what it's to be used for. If it's for personal/hobby use, sure, buy your own and program it... but if it's for official agency use, accountability may need to be considered.......
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2018, 4:39 PM
Citywide173's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Attleboro, MA
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8vlv View Post
It set up through the mpscs. And attorney General has no say in it.
The MSPCS may have designated what frequencies are to be included in the G4s that THEY purchased. They may even have stated that the particular programming is proprietary and asked the radio shop not to share it. The radio shop does not have to share it, or they can if they don't necessarily care about the contract. They could also develop a similar but slightly different programming and offer it for sale to private owners.

However, charging roughly 60 times the going price for programming of a unit is something I am sure the AG would be interested in.

I'm not sure what you're trying to do. Are you looking to buy a pager from them with programming that is proprietary or at least discouraged and they said they had no pagers? When they said they had no pagers, did you start looking to buy a pager and have it programmed by them and they quoted an outrageous price because they want to discourage you from having that proprietary programming or doing business with you? It really sounds like they are trying to avoid selling you a unit.

There seems to be an issue where Unication says there are plenty of G4s around but you can't seem to find them.

The biggest question is; the info is readily available, why don't you buy from another dealer and program it yourself?

Also, last time I checked, I had programmed the MSPCS info into my G5 https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=100
__________________
Ed Burke
KD1EMS WQRD823

Administrator: Firepics-THE Place for fire photographers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions