RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners, Receivers and Related Equipment Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Prospective Owners

Uniden Prospective Owners - A discussion area for those interested in purchasing specific models and have questions about them.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2015, 8:26 PM

Default Almost total newb...

This is for prospective owners.. ok I get that. I actually ordered, but it hasn't shipped yet (but any minute now unless I change it!)

I live in Winnebago County, Illinois. Police are using the Starcomm 25 / P25 digital system? am I saying that right? I'm a photographer that will be shooting for the local FIRE department. I can get calls (poor reception) on my 20+ year old bearcat scanner. So I wanted something better, digital, and that I could hear police because a unit of the police department is asking me to respond and do publicity photos for them as well...

SO... I ordered a Uniden BCD396XT:
The BCD396XT comes equipped with Uniden exclusive features like Advanced Dynamic Memory System, Close Call RF Capture Technology, and GPS compatibility.

TrunkTracker IV (Motorola APCO 25 Digital, Motorola, EDACS, LTR) - Lets you monitor all of the major types of communications systems used by public safety, local government, amateur radio operators, and more.

25000 Dynamically Allocated Channels - Room for all your local systems and more.

Close CallŪ RF Capture Technology - Instantly tunes to signals from nearby transmitters

Location-Based Scanning - Connect an optional GPS for automatic channel selection.

Continuous Band Coverage - 25MHz to 1.3GHz Excluding UHF TV and Cellular Alpha Tagging

100 Quick Key System Access

Band Scope - Graphically finds radio activity

Compact Size

Audio AGC

Automatic Digital Threshold Adjustment

Temporary Lockout - Lets you temporarily lockout noisy channels.

Search with Scan