Uniden HomePatrol "Range issues"

Status
Not open for further replies.

andre364

Premium Subscriber
Hello RR.I'm a newbie at this Uniden Product called the Homepatrol-1 with upgrades. Is there a way to extend the range setting to 50 miles or more for the Uniden HomePatrol-1 Extreme? Because am having a difficult time trying to receive the Palmetto (Project 25) towers that are 40+ miles away to pick up the signal my location is Cross,SC trying to receive signals in Goose Creek,SC,Charleston,SC which are 40+ miles from my location.Also any tips for pre amps,coax cable,and antenna type for my area?

Ranger0034

You can try changing your location in the scanner to indicate that you're closer to Palmetto towers than you actually are, so the scanner will open up that system. Now for actually receiving anything, that totally depends on a lot of things. You might get a roof antenna, I'm sure that'll help reception considerably. As far as I know, the distance setting on the HP-1 is maxed out at 30 miles, but that is not absolute... it'll open up a lot more agencies on the scanner to be "received" IF you're with in receiving distance.

i am having problems getting any P25 chatter in .. 2 towns near me are P25 and i get zero on them even when I am in that town ... I have newest updates and programing.. everything set correctly .. i assume...
I am getting county and basically every other kind of chatter except any P25 system... i wonder is there is an issue here? or if its our user error? some programing that I and maybe you don't have correct to allow us to hear these P25 systems? That is the main reason I spent the extra money and went with this scanner .. to get the P25 system .. so far i can't get a P25 system in...

AE7Q

Premium Subscriber
How about 200 miles?

The formula for range based on elevation is simple high school geometry: