Complete Newbie needs some help

Status
Not open for further replies.

tcott85

Hi,

I purchased a Uniden BC125AT just so I could monitor my local police, fire, etc. communications.

This is the first time I have ever used a scanner. I went to this website to find the frequencies for programming my scanner.

The first frequency for my PD is: 853.77500. When I try to enter it, the scanner says "out of band." I is there an update or any setting I can change to get my scanner to accept this? If not, it looks like I can't get and PD frequencies on this scanner.

If I can't get it on this scanner, do you have any other recommendations for an entry level (inexpensive) scanner that could get that frequency?

I would also be looking for one that is super simple to use.

Also, what is the easiest and fastest way to program my scanner for multiple frequencies / stations once I have one that can scan that frequency?

I appreciate all of your help!

elk2370bruce

It is quite possible that the police department is using a trunked system in which there are a number of frequencies involved and this requires some additional programming. As stated, it would be helpful if we knew what your location is (city/county/state) but it defintely has nothing to do with amateur radio. Give us some more information for any meaningful answer.

N8IAA

Hi,

I purchased a Uniden BC125AT just so I could monitor my local police, fire, etc. communications.

This is the first time I have ever used a scanner. I went to this website to find the frequencies for programming my scanner.

The first frequency for my PD is: 853.77500. When I try to enter it, the scanner says "out of band." I is there an update or any setting I can change to get my scanner to accept this? If not, it looks like I can't get and PD frequencies on this scanner.

If I can't get it on this scanner, do you have any other recommendations for an entry level (inexpensive) scanner that could get that frequency?