BCD436HP/BCD536HP: P25 Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

Astialis

Hi!

First things first, I just started messing around with trunking, so total noob in this area.

I bought a BCD436HP a few weeks ago, and I made a Custom Search, from frequencies 850Mhz to 868Mhz. I've noticed three different behaviors while searching:

1. On some frequencies, the scanner stops, nothing is heard, and the letters DAT appear at the bottom of the LCD screen. Are these frequencies control channels? If so, do I just save them to a new Site? If I find more than one, do I save them to the same Site or to a new Site each?
2. On some frequencies, the scanner stops, and a loud noise can be heard. Some people compare this to the sound of an engine. No DAT on these. Are these control channels too? analog?
3. On other frequencies, the scanner stops, no sound or voice, and a few things appear on the LCD. At the bottom, "Slot1" flashes with the letters CON just to the right. At mid screen, the words "Color Code: #" flashes, and a few other things, like "TG: ##", "Net: ###". Replace # with numbers. What are these?
4. On other frequencies I can actually hear people talking. Do I save these?

I've heard/read that I only need the control channels, and that the scanner will do the rest. How true is this?

Again, sorry for my ignorance in this. I've been reading and messing around with this for weeks and have not been able to make it work...

Thanks for any help you can provide me with!

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
1. On some frequencies, the scanner stops, nothing is heard, and the letters DAT appear at the bottom of the LCD screen. Are these frequencies control channels? If so, do I just save them to a new Site? If I find more than one, do I save them to the same Site or to a new Site each?