BCD436HP/BCD536HP: UHF Reception Issues due to Noise from Battery Compartment

Status
Not open for further replies.

bearcat

This is all done in a portable configuration no external antennas. I probed the case of the 436 and found an excessive amount of noise coming from the bottom rear of the radio. I am not an engineer so I have no idea what kind of noise it is. I applied some RF shielding tape to the inside of the battery case lid. To my surprise the normal hiss/static/noise what ever you wish to call it diminished drastically. I have tested this for a week and the findings are all positive. There are some UHF RF link transmitters in my area that I could not hear. Now I hear them. If I remove the battery cover the signal goes away. Some weaker signals contain a large amount of hiss on the audio, that is hiss is now gone. If I remove the battery cover while they are transmitting the hiss returns. There are some P25 UHF control channels that I could not hear, but now I do. Over all the radio is not quite as good as the 396 but it is a tremendous improvement over what it was. I do not know how many db of noise reduction my tape provides. I have had it for years. I do know that aluminum foil does not work. This was tested on several 436s and the results were the same on each one. I would be interested in how this works for others.

pro92b

Mutated Member
Premium Subscriber
What is RF shielding tape? Copper tape? Can you post a photo of the battery cover as modified? Seems like it shouldn't do much unless the shielding tape is grounded somehow.

bearcat

What is RF shielding tape? Copper tape? Can you post a photo of the battery cover as modified? Seems like it shouldn't do much unless the shielding tape is grounded somehow.
My tape is silver sticky on one side shiny silver on the other. I could post a picture but frankly I do not know how. It is not grounded to anything. It can do a lot if it is not letting "noise" into the radio (or out of)

Last edited:

k3fs