396XT specific group scanning across multi-systems?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bpdinse

Hello all. I just received a 396XT. I am entirely new to the Uniden interface and programming (as well as to this forum). I purchased the Bu-Tel software and that made easy work of downloading many systems into the scanner. I live in the Phoenix AZ area and the various police and fire departments are spread across several systems. Some of these systems have nearly 20 groups with widely varying uses. I’d like to be able to scan just the police groups only across all the relevant systems and assign some kind of key to enable search on that (and only that). I’d like to do the same for fire and the same for emergency services. I started playing with group and system quick keys and found that I am unable to accomplish what I’d like to do. I am sure it is me, being new to this. I’ve searched around for threads on the forum but didn’t find something that directly addresses how to accomplish this (I may be too new and ignorant to know what I am looking for as well). Can someone please explain or point me to a resource that teaches how to do this? Thank you. Kind Regards, Brian

jcpd9720

From what I can tell, you want to have all of the police tgs, on several systems, scan with the hit of one button, and be able to scann all the fire tgs, on several systems, scan with the hit of another button?

If this is the case, it is fairly simple. The only problem may be the way the systems are set-up in the programming. I don't know how yours is set up, so I will present a couple basics.