800 range freq's

Status
Not open for further replies.

horntoad

I have the PRO 164 and WIN 97. I am new at programming scanners. The problem I am having is finding Alpha Tags for the 800 freq range so I can identify who is transmitting. I am interested in Salt Lake County freq's and in particular, Police, Fire, Ambulance.

Thanks John

Rolfman

Well judging by your comments, and I hope I am not offending you, I think you need to read this first.

Trunked Radio Systems - The RadioReference Wiki

Once you understand trunked systems you will have a better handle on how to program your scanner. You are not looking for frequencies per say any more. The UCAN system that carries Salt Lake County is a Motorola Type II SmartZone so don’t read to hard about the other types right now. Before you get too carried away on programming also check out the firmware upgrade for your scanner so it can handle the re-banded system we have out here. (Also in the Wiki)

There are some around here using a 164 I think and given some time they will jump in and help I’m sure.

qlajlu

Silent Key
I have the PRO 164 and WIN 97. I am new at programming scanners. The problem I am having is finding Alpha Tags for the 800 freq range so I can identify who is transmitting. I am interested in Salt Lake County freq's and in particular, Police, Fire, Ambulance.

Thanks John

Welcome to the Utah Forum of RR.com​
horntoad!​

I am a little confused (not uncommon, by the way :roll:). Are you entering the 800 MHz frequencies as conventional frequencies? ...or are you setting things up to trunk-track the systems?