VSP - Royalton New Frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

numarkdj86

While driving to work today (7/10/18 about 12:10 PM I heard on my scanner "All Royalton radio users . Our radios will be down for approximately one hour. When it comes back we will be using the new Royalton..." then the signal was static before he finished.

I'm guessing they went digital or encrypted digital. They may even be on an entire different frequency than 460.02500

I had my BCD436HP recording all day and haven't gotten a single hit from Royalton or any close calls from unknown frequencies. I am very new to scanning so may not have it set up right but I was able to pick up Woodstock's new P25 NAC code of 457 on 460.1000 (they still use their analog with ctscc as well) and Hartford's P25 NAC of 649 on channel 453.9000 which is registered to the town of hartford but not listed on Radio Reference. RR lists hartford as 460.25000 NAC295 which I've never heard so much as a squelch from on 295, auto, digital search, or analog search.

Maybe I bought the wrong radio, or Vermont is in the process of totally overhauling their systems to digital one by one. I'm going to plug into Sentenel and try updating to see if that finds anything new and also try listening to the archive to see if i can catch what was said in the rest of the call from earlier today.

numarkdj86

New frequencies

I guess they did switch to new frequencies today. I found this on Radio Technology Services on Vermont.gov

ROYALTON CHANNEL CHANGES
When: JULY 10, 2018 - channel changes should be pre-installed prior to change