RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Vertex Standard

Vertex Standard - Discussions regarding Vertex Standard professional and public safety radio equipment.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2016, 10:04 PM

Default VX 2200 problem

After programing a Vertex 2200 the radio shuts down about 5 seconds after I turn it on. I'm new to then Vertex software and wondering if it's the radio or did I miss something?
Sponsored links
Old 10-02-2016, 6:49 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber

I'm going to assume that the radio worked normally before you programmed it. It stayed on and
you could transmit/receive with no issues.
If the radio was not tested before you programmed it, is the power supply the radio is hooked up to providing enough amperage? It should supply at least 10 amps and preferably 15 amps if you transmit. Less of course if just monitoring.
Did you adjust the power level setting during your programming?
I will have to look at the menu for the VX-2200 and see if I notice anything that would cause this,
though does not seem like a programming issue.
Old 10-02-2016, 9:44 PM

The radio stayed on before I programed it and I did lower the power level on some channels
Old 10-03-2016, 3:08 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber

I looked thru the various menus and didn't see anything that would cause the condition you described.
My guess is that there is something wrong with the radio. It seems unlikely that programming the radio
would have caused this issue, but anything is possible. I assume the radio is out of the Vertex 3
year warranty period otherwise you could send it to Vertex for repair. I've programmed many of these
VX-2200 mobiles and never yet had this issue. Anybody else got any ideas?
Old 10-03-2016, 4:03 PM
  Shack Photos
Shack photos

Default VX2200