Fairfax County FD reception

Status
Not open for further replies.

RS8

Premium Subscriber
Has something changed on Fairfax County FD dispatch. Checked frequencies etc but I cannot receive them.
Any input appreciated.This is the P25 system.

covert53

Dude
Premium Subscriber
I commute to DC from Spotsylvania every day so I dont normally listen to any Fairfax FD or PD. Since I do come up to Fairfax at times for work I thought I would QC my BCD396T to make sure I have current freqs and TGIDs. (I did not) So after updating freqs and new TGIDs to what is currently listed in the RadioRef database for both FD and PD I don't hear a damn thing. Control channel is coming at about 4 bars but often get the "finding control channel" message while on 395/95 around Springfield/Lorton. I get MWAA just fine.

Am I missing something? Any special scanner setting I need to do. (I'm not a scanner newbie so its a bit frustrating).

Thanks in advance.

covert53

Dude
Premium Subscriber
I am using a BCD369XT. I get Prince William and DCFD just fine. Can the 369 receive fairfax if properly configured?

fredva

Feed Provider
I am using a BCD369XT. I get Prince William and DCFD just fine. Can the 369 receive fairfax if properly configured?

Can you confirm which scanner you are using? Your earlier post said BCD396T. Now you say BCD369XT. You have your numbers transposed (should be 396). But it could make a difference whether you are using an older BCD396T or a newer BCD396XT.

redburgundy

Premium Subscriber
Fairfax FD is a simulcast system, which means that multiple transmitter sites transmit the same signal, and they interfere with one another in most scanners, particularly if you are equidistant from several transmitters.
I live in the Rockville area, and my Radio Shack/GRE scanners show three bars but can't decode the transmissions. But they do a better job when driving through Fairfax County. My Uniden 436 does an even better job but still it's not reliable.

covert53

Dude