WS1080: WS1080 - Global attenuation - Pls explain

Status
Not open for further replies.

hth999

The user manual of the WS1080 does not explain ( very well ) the different types of attenuation, at least in terms to a new scanner person. By pressing the ATT key the display can say GA or G. What is global attenuation? And what is G?
I am a newbie, and am having trouble receiving some signals. Overall I am happy with the unit P25 is receiving well for the 3 major police departments in my county.
However some P25 transmissions don't come in or are garbled. Might be multi site problems.

Anyway can someone explain GA and G that appear on the LCD screen. It would be appreciated. Thank you.

Hal

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
Global Attenuation is a setting that will attenuate (weaken) everything incoming when the attenuator is turned on. G indicates that the Global Attenuation setting is turned on, but by itself does not mean anything is attenuated. A indicates that the scanner is actively attenuating the incoming signal. It is still possible to be attenuating objects individually when using the ATT button or in individual settings without the G, so you would end up seeing only an A for the object when receiving or when selected.

In short:
(Nothing) - Global Attenuation Off, Attenuator Off.
G - Global Attenuation On, Attenuator Off.
GA - Global Attenuation On, Attenuator On (Global).
A - Global Attenuation Off, Attenuator On (Individual).

hth999

Thanks for taking the time to explain this. The user manual is not the best on this, especially for someone new to the hobby. Now I understand why I have not seen an " A " My options are " G " or " GA