Wiki for dummies

Status
Not open for further replies.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
The title of your message is nearly the title of a book that I've seen recommended for learning about the wiki - there is a Mediawiki for Dummies book, and I think you can find that on Amazon.

What are you trying to do? There are enough people here that are wiki-conversant that we can probably figure out a way to do it...best regards..Mike

jeffreyinberthoud

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Mike I was hoping to find a Local person that can patiently show me some how to's Im a guy that learns by seeing how its done .....
That said when I see something in wiki like lets say a map if I click edit I should see what stuff they did [[ ]] or what ever ..... sometimes this works for me sometimes I got no idea how they got something done ....

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Jeff you can edit almost any page to see how something gets done. Heck, that's how I started learning the Mediawiki language. But then I'm a developer by profession, so perhaps that gives me an advantage.

However there are several places you can go - online - to learn how to do things. There are a couple of links right at the bottom of the main page. There's a quick guide, a printable PDF based card, and even a link to the language website, which is pretty good. All these links exist in the 'Editing and Commands' section.

For example - the double brackets ( [[ ]] ) are used to link to another page within the wiki. Single brackets ( [ ] ) are used to create a hyperlink to something outside the wiki. When using a link to something inside our wiki, spelling and punctuation all count! If the link turns out red when you store it, it means the wiki can't find the article - and that usually points to a spelling error.