digital scanners for dummies??

Status
Not open for further replies.

radio_earbug

Hello,

I'm totally new to trunk systems and Digital scanners. Are there any videos or books out there that would help me understand how to use my new PRO-197. I see the letters PRO is in the model name so I am not yet qualified to use this thing. I live in Orange County, CA and seem to have trouble picking up digital broadcasts. I suspect that the broadcasts are encrypted. The other day I picked up a signal via scanning and it was P25, but the audio sounded garbled. I suspect I am too far from the window and I sandwiched between two over passes.

I had to upgrade from my PRO-2016; which when living in Ventura County, it was quite enjoyable. Thank you Radio Shack. Now if they can start putting their name back on those Sangean radios, I would be in sweet home Radio-wave city.

yMidnite

I would like to help you but I am not familiar with your area. You might try posting in the area specific for th encryption question.
As for the trunking there is tons of info in the forum and the wiki, here is a link to the trunking basics:
Trunking Basics - The RadioReference Wiki
As for books or videos - there is a book called Two-Way Radios & Scanners For Dummies

SkipSanders

Silent Key
Almost every channel on the Orange County California system which is digital is also encrypted and can not be monitored. Period. System policy is that Law Enforcement = Encrypted. There are one or two digital unencrypted channels, so noted on the system info in the database here.

The fire channels on that system are, so far, analog and unencrypted, and can be listened to.

Orange, County of (CCCS - Public Safety) Trunking System, Orange County, California - Scanner Frequencies

If the 'mode' on that list is 'E', it's encrypted, and you will never, ever, be able to montor it.

If it's 'D', it's digital, but not encrypted, and can be monitored on a digital scanner.