10 meters HOT! questions also!

Status
Not open for further replies.

intiractive

So im fairly new to scanning the 10 meter ham band. Ive been off and on scanning it for the past month, but the past week at around 8pm to 9pm EST it seems like skip is coming into play and it is wide open. Any other time other than 8-9pm and i hear absolutely nothing.

tonight 06/18/2011 : i heard traffic on

29.6400 callsigns N2AZF (New Hamshire), WD4ICK (Georgia).
29.6200 couldnt catch a complete callsign but heard them say their locations as "Orange County, NY" and "Missouri"
29.6600 couldnt catch a complete callsign but everyone was talking in a new york accent
29.7700 spanish speaking
29.5600 no complete callsigns

all of this was happening at one time between 8:51pm EST and by 9:20pm EST it had pretty much disappeared. conditions here were 78* F with approaching thunderstorms. my location is Wilmington, NC. using a uniden bearcat BC350A with a 11meter k40 cb radio antenna.

anyone else experiencing this? its like my buddy noted that i didnt notice - seems like all the traffic i hear is north to south... ive heard this week traffic from NY, NH, NC, GA, AL, RI... and im located in wilmington NC on the water. pretty much all coastal states. Is this skip normal for N to S orientation? or is there also E to W skip that anyone is experiencing?

Skypilot007

Premium Subscriber
Yeah it seems 10 and 11 meters have had good conditions in the early evening hours for the last week or more. The past two nights it went on until after mid-night. If you had a bigger antenna you probably would have heard all the west coast stations coming in also. I was hanging down between 28.300 and 28.500 usb. Local chat on CB 38LSB was impossible due to the skip comming in.

K9WG

Ahh, I remember running 6-meters SSB for Field Day back in 1974. Talked all over the US. Dem were good old days when men were men and sunspots ruled.

Murstech